Atomic announces strong 2014/15 teams

23 May 2014 12:26
Mikaela Shiffrin - Are
Mikaela Shiffrin - Are -

Last season the Atomic team scored a total of 16 wins, 13 second and 16 third places and today the Austrian ski brand announced the team which will try to keep the performance level at least as in the upcoming season. 

The big names of the Atomic team include some old and some new names. Triple World Cup winner Marcel Hirscher, Max Franz, Joachim Puchner (AUT), Werner Heel, Peter Fill (ITA), Travis Ganong, Marco Sullivan (USA) and Croatian Natko Zrncic Dim and Benni Reich who will continue to compete next season are Atomic veterans who are expected to achieve top results in the World Championships winter. This group will be reinforced by Sweden’s Mattias Hargin, the up-and-coming Austrian star Manuel Feller (Junior World Champion 2013) and Santeri Paloniemi, shooting star from Finland (Junior World Champion 2012.

Some additional names Atomic is investing in are Swiss Thomas Tumler (overall winner Europa Cup), Marco Caviezel and Manuel Pleisch. Aleksander Aamodt Kilde (Junior World Champion giant slalom, Europa Cup winner, promising first World Cup results) and Adrian Smiseth-Sejersted (downhill gold and combined silver at the Junior World Championships) are considered the next star generation from Norway. Mario Karelly, Nicklas Köck and Daniel Danklmaier are three promising Atomic talents from Austria. The Youngster Unit of the Atomic team also includes Morgan Pridy (CAN), Andreas Sander (GER) and Victor Malmström (FIN). 

On the ladies side, slalom superstar Mikaela Shiffrin will continue to race on Atomic as will Austrians Kathrin Zettel and Michaela Kirchgasser. Marlies Schild will be deciding very soon if she will be continuing her career, and if so she will do it on Atomic equipement. Tina Weirather, who prior to her injury at the Olympics  achieved 10 podium finishes in four disciplines has big plans for her comeback season and will stick to Atomic.  In the team next year also – Mirjam Puchner (qualified for World Cup super-G), Christina Ager and Stephanie Venier from Austria; Sophia Goggia (ITA), Lotte Sejersted (NOR) and Alice McKennis (USA), who had already won a World Cup downhill before her injury sustained last winter.