Great Britain names 2018/19 alpine national team

21 May 2018 14:34
Dave Ryding in the 2018 Wengen slalom
Dave Ryding in the 2018 Wengen slalom -
Agence Zoom

After a stellar season highlighted by two top-10 Olympic finishes, the Delancey British Alpine Team is ready to launch into the 2018/19 season with 12 athletes selected across its World Cup and Europa Cup squads.

The Delancey British Alpine World Cup Squad consists of the four athletes who were selected for the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games and went on to collectively claim a share of fifth place in the inaugural Olympic Alpine Team Event.

Dave Ryding, who also earned an individual top-10 finish in Korea, leads the squad on the back of 11 World Cup top 10s including a podium over the last two seasons. Fellow slalom specialist Laurie Taylor steps up from the Europa Cup squad after a top-30 individual performance in PyeongChang and fourth place overall in the Far East Cup slalom standings.

Alex Tilley scored her best-ever World Cup result with 13th at Courchevel in December and will be looking for an even more consistent stream of top-level results this season. Charlie Guest returns to the World Cup squad after an injury-hampered season in which she still delivered four FIS race victories including her fourth national slalom title in the last five years.

“There is some great talent coming through and as we move into the next Olympic cycle there is no doubt that a number of athletes we have selected in the FIS and Europa Cup squads will start to push our World Cup athletes,” said Head Alpine Coach Reini Fernsebner. “That’s the kind of environment we want to create, where we have healthy competition amongst our best skiers, pushing each other to be their best which will bring good results at the biggest competitions in Europe and America.”

2018/19 Delancey British Alpine World Cup Squad 

1. Charlie Guest
2. Dave Ryding
3. Laurie Taylor
4. Alex Tilley
Head Coach: Reini Fernsebner
Ladies’ World Cup Coach: Noel Baxter
Men’s World Cup Coach: Tristan Glasse-Davies

2018/19 Delancey British Alpine Europa Cup Squad 

1. Cara Brown
2. Jack Gower
3. Iain Innes
4. Billy Major
5. Nick Moynihan
6. Robert Poth
7. Charlie Raposo
8. Zak Vinter
Europa Cup Coaches: Stefan Leitner, Mike Pilarski

See the full team naming, including the 19-member FIS Squad, here.

Release courtesy of British Ski and Snowboard