Hoedlmoser to lead USSA's men's speed team

08 May 2014 15:02
Alex Hoedlmoser
Alex Hoedlmoser -
Mitchell Gunn/ESPA

Alex Hoedlmoser has been named Head Coach for the U.S. Ski Team men’s speed team. Hoedlmoser has spent the last 17 years working with the U.S. women’s alpine speed team, including the last four as head coach. During his tenure with women’s alpine, he led American athletes to 18 Olympic and World Championship medals and over 150 Audi FIS Alpine World Cup podiums. Hoedlmoser’s former head coach position with the women’s alpine program will not be replaced at this time and newly hired coach Stefan Abplanalp will lead the women’s speed program.

 “The years I’ve spent with the women’s program have been truly rewarding, but the team is really strong right now and the right coaches are in place to continue that direction. For me, this move is extremely motivating. Sasha (Rearick) has built an impressive program with incredible athletes and coaches. It will be a challenge for me to step over to the men’s side, but I feel I’ll bring a perspective that will enhance the professionalism and focus that this staff has already produced,” Hoedlmoser said of his transition. 

With the announcement of Hoedlmoser’s transition, the complete layout of the new teams became known. Roland Pfeifer will enter his fourth year at the helm of the women’s technical team and Trevor Wagner will continue to lead the Europa Cup training group. Forest Carey, Bernd Brunner and Randy Pelkey will remain as head coaches of the men's multi, technical and development teams respectively, while TJ Lanning will move from coaching the men's speed group to the Europa Cup coaching staff.


Here is the list of the complete USSA 2015 Alpine Staff:

Patrick Riml, Alpine Director 


Head Coach: Sasha Rearick

Team Manager: Kate Avrin

Physio Coordinator: Chris Antinori

Conditioning Coordinator: Anton Beretzki


World Cup Multi

Head Coach: Forest Carey

Assistant Coach: Adam Cole

Physiotherapist: Rotational

Head Ski Service Ted Ligety: Alex Martin

Head Ski Service Bode Miller: Chris Krause


World Cup Speed

Head Coach: Alex Hoedlmoser

Assistant Coach: Scotty Veenis

Assistant Coach: Peter Anderson

Assistant Coach: Chris Beckmann

Physiotherapist: Rotational

Pool Ski Service: Guntram Mathis

Fischer Ski Service: Leo Mussi

Atomic Ski Service: Thomas Graggaber

Rossignol Ski Service: Shawn Gaisford


World Cup Technical

Head Coach: Bernd Brunner

Assistant Coach: Ian Garner

Conditioning Coach: Bob Poehling

Pool Ski Service: Matej Cujes

Pool Ski Service: Alex Petitdemange

Pool Ski Service: Danijel Andesilic


Europa Cup

Speed Coach: TJ Lanning

Technical Coach: Ian Lochhead

Ski Service: Vittorio Boggian


Development Team

Head Coach: Randy Pelkey

Assistant Coach: JJ Johnson

Ski Service: Eric Holmer



Team Manager: Chelsea Steinbach


World Cup Speed

Head Coach: Stefan Abplanalp

Assistant Coach: Chris Knight

Assistant Coach: Wade Bishop

Assistant Coach: Pascal Hasler

Ski Service: Ales Sopotnik

Ski Service: Miha Dolinar

Head Ski Service Lindsey Vonn: Heinz Haemmerle

Head Ski Service Julia Mancuso: Michael Gmeiner


World Cup Technical

Head Coach: Roland Pfeifer

Assistant Coach: Seth McCadam

Conditioning Coach: Rotational

Atomic Ski Service Mikaela Shiffrin: Kim Erlandsson


Europa Cup

Head Coach: Trevor Wagner

Ski Service: Jonathan Weyant