Neureuther and Vhlova leading in the first run

18 March 2017 16:56
Impressons World Cup Finals Aspen 2017 Men's GS
Impressons World Cup Finals Aspen 2017 Men's GS -
Agence Zoom

The penultimate race day at the Audi FIS Ski World Cup Finals in Aspen is underway and both first runs of the men’s Giant Slalom and the ladies‘ Slalom took place this morning.

Germany’s Felix Neureuther was the fastest on the men’s side, preceding both dominators of the Giant Slalom season Marcel Hirscher (2nd only +0.01 behind) and Alexis Pinturault (3rd +0.23 off the pace).

On the ladies’ side, the Slovakia’s Petra Vhlova is leading the way in a very tight first run. Frida Hansdotter (SWE) is only +0.03 back and Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) follows with +0.07.

Both discipline globes are no longer to grab, as Marcel Hirscher and Mikaela Shiffrin secured the season titles earlier in the season, but the battle for the race wins promises to be exiting. Make sure you follow the decisive runs starting at 11.30 MT (18.30 CET) for the men and 12.30 MT (19.30 CET) for the ladies.