“Skieur d’Or AIJS – Serge Lang Trophy” presented by Milka 2016

21 October 2016 12:46
Marcel Hirscher Skieur d'Or 2016
Marcel Hirscher Skieur d'Or 2016 -
GEPA Pictures

Another AIJS Award for Marcel Hirscher!
For the third time in the past four years, a majority of members of the AIJS decided to elect Austria’s Marcel Hirscher as the recipient of the ‘Skieur d’Or- Trophy Serge Lang’ Award presented by Milka at Soelden on Thursday Oct.20th - 2016.

The five-time overall World Cup champion already received the prestigious crystal trophy created by Joska and handed over by FIS in 2012 after his first overall victory and back again after last winter crowned by a fourth big globe and a gold medal in combined at Beaver Creek.
Members of the International Association of the Ski Journalists also awarded many votes to Lara Gut, the first Swiss woman able to clinch the overall World Cup title since slalom star Vreni Schneider in 1995, as well as to Norway’s Aksel Lund Svindal and his young teammate Henrik Kristoffersen.
Only a few champion so far were honored three times by AIJS in past decades – among them Austria’s skiing legend Karl Schranz, all-time great Ingemar Stenmark from Sweden, Italy’s superstar Alberto Tomba or Swiss Ace Pirmin Zurbriggen who all achieved impressive performances during their best years on the tour.

Hirscher is going to receive this year’s award at Soelden during a presentation organized by Milka within the Hotel Central at 20.00 on Thursday Oct. 20th “It’s surely not a great surprise to see Marcel receiving again a majority of vote considering his fantastic past season marked by strong performances in the technical events and foremost his surprising win in Super-G at Beaver Creek, he is doing a great job to promote our sport around the globe,” said AIJS Vice-President Patrick Lang in charge of the ‘Skieur d’Or’ for over fifteen years now.

“Everyone within the World Cup tour is impressed by his passion and his dedication for alpine ski racing. He works really very hard on and off the snow fields, I guess only a few people in his entourage really know how intensively his is training to remain atop of his sport,” added Lang. “There are only a few examples in the history of our sport of role models being so fully focused and successful in their best events – and this winter after winter. I also like his readiness to take risks racing in other specialties than slalom and giant slalom to clinch again the big crystal globe, so I was very proud of him when I saw him winning that challenging Super-G race at Beaver Creek a year ago. It was quite a spectacular achievement that may equal his triumph there in the Alpine combined of the 2015 FIS Ski World Championships. We all wish him great luck for another successful season this winter and more interesting stories with him.”

Winners of the AIJS Skieur d’Or – Serge Lang Trophy presented by Milka 2005-2016

2005 - B. Miller (USA)
2006 - B. Raich (AUT)
2007 - A.L. Svindal (NOR)
2008 - M. Lanzinger (AUT)
2009 - L. Vonn (USA)
2010 - C. Janka (SUI)
2011 - I. Kostelic (CRO)
2012 - M. Hirscher (AUT)
2013 - T. Maze (SLO)
2014 - A. Fenninger (AUT)
2015 A. Fenninger (AUT)  & M. Hirscher (AUT)

Patrick Lang
Vice President - AIJS