Stockholm set for city event on Tuesday

29 January 2018 09:55
Stockholm City Event in 2017
Stockholm City Event in 2017 -
Agence Zoom

The Scandinavian metropolis of Stockholm, Sweden, will host its third Audi FIS Ski World Cup city event on Tuesday evening on the slope at SkiStar's Hammarbybacken. The race is the final World Cup technical event and parallel competition prior to the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games, where a side-by-side racing format will make its Olympic debut in the Alpine Team Event. 

The top-12 World Cup starting list (WCSL) ranked slalom athletes and the top four ranked overall athletes create qualification spots for the city event. Nations may substitute any other skiers within the top 30 WCSL for slalom or the overall for a qualified competitor from their country. Given the proximity in timing to the Olympic Winter Games, some teams opted to replace qualified skiers with other top slalom racers following the official qualification on Sunday afternoon. 

The following 16 ladies are confirmed to compete in the Audi FIS Ski World Cup Stockholm city event: 

1. Frida Hansdotter SWE

2. Petra Vlhova SVK

3. Wendy Holdener SUI

4. Bernadette Schild AUT

5. Nina Haver-Loeseth NOR

6. Melanie Meillard SUI

7. Anna Swenn Larsson SWE

8. Katharina Gallhuber AUT

9. Denise Feierabend SUI

10. Irene Curtoni ITA

11. Christina Geiger GER

12. Katharina Truppe AUT

13. Chiara Costazza ITA

14. Lena Duerr GER

15. Marina Wallner GER

16. Resi Stiegler USA


The following 16 men are confirmed to compete in the Audi FIS Ski World Cup Stockholm city event:

1. Marcel Hirscher AUT

2. Henrik Kristoffersen NOR

3. Michael Matt AUT

4. Andre Myhrer SWE

5. Daniel Yule SUI

6. Stefano Gross ITA

7. Dave Ryding GBR

8. Luca Aerni SUI

9. Sebastian Foss-Solevaag NOR

10. Mattias Hargin SWE

11. Ramon Zenhaeusern SUI

12. Marco Schwarz AUT

13. Jonathan Nordbotten NOR

14. Leif Kristian Nestvold-Haugen NOR

15. Linus Strasser GER

16. Clement Noel FRA


Racing starts under the lights on 30 January at 17:45 CET. 

Review the rules for World Cup city events here.