Vote for the RUN OF THE YEAR

01 April 2011 13:26

At the 2011 FIS Alpine Ski World Cup Finals in Lenzerheide, Switzerland in mid-March the World Cup athletes voted for the RUN OF THE YEAR and here were their choices:







1. Ted Ligety (USA): 3 GS wins in a row

2. Tessa Worley (FRA): 3 GS wins in a row

3. Mattias Hargin (SWE): Zagreb SL from 30th to 3rd

4. Mario Matt (AUT): Adelboden SL bib #43 to 4th

5. Alexis Pinturault (FRA): Kranjska Gora GS bib #34 to 2nd

6. Didier Cuche (SUI): Kitzbühel DH

7. Ivica Kostelic (CRO): Kitzbuehel SG


Check out the poll on the homepage and post your vote!


1. Ted Ligety (USA): The American became the first male skier in 15 years to win the first three giant slaloms of a World Cup season in Alta Badia, Val d’ Isère and Beaver Creek. The last man to win the opening three giant slaloms was Swiss Michael von Gruenigen in 1995-96.

2. Tessa Worley (FRA): The 21-year-old, a winner in Aspen and St Moritz, also took top place on the podium in Semmering winning three giant slalom races in succession. Worley's winning streak emulated former world champion Carole Merle, the last French skier to win three giant slaloms in a row in 1992.

3. Mattias Hargin (SWE): The Swede makes a record jump of 27 places between first and second runs to finish on the podium in third place in the men's slalom in Zagreb.

4. Mario Matt (AUT): Switzerland has proved to be fertile ground for Mario Matt. He missed out on third place at the Adelboden slalom by a mere 26 hundredths of a second wearing bib number 43.

5. Alexis Pinturault (FRA): Starting 34th, the French rookie Pinturault, who also won the Europa Cup rankings both overall and in GS, put down a stunning second run in the Kransjska Gora giant slalom sitting 16th after the first run. He won the second run by .35, which was good enough for second place at the end of the race, only a month after capturing the World Junior GS gold medal.

6. Didier Cuche (SUI): On what most consider ski racing’s toughest track, Didier Cuche destroyed the field with a scintillating run down the Streif, winning Saturday’s Hahnenkamm downhill by the huge margin of 0.98 seconds. For the veteran Swiss it was his fourth downhill win at the venerable ski venue equaling the mark of legendary Austrian Franz Klammer.

7. Ivica Kostelic (CRO): The 31-year-old Croatian slalom specialist, who had never won a speed race before, claimed his first super G victory on the challenging Streifalm course in Kitzbuehel, Austria, for his 16th career win.