Cologna back on top in Russia

23 January 2015 14:15
Dario Cologna SUI
Dario Cologna SUI -

Switzerland’s Dario Cologna records his 4th victory in Russia with his win today in the 15 km F interval start in Rybinsk. His winning time of 36:53.4 was enough for a +16.3 second margin over second place finisher Evgeniy Belov of Russia. In third was another Russian Sergey Ustiugov +28.8 seconds back.

15 km F podium in Rybinsk - Men

  • First World Cup distance podium for Ustuigov (3 previous in sprint events)
  • Second podium in a row for Ustuigov (team sprint in Otepaa)
  • 4th victory in Russia for Cologna (3 previous in Sochi 2013 &14)
  • Cologna has 3 wins in ITA, GER, SWE & FIN.
  • Cologna’s first 15 km F World Cup win ever despite being Olympic champion in the event in Vancouver 2010
  • First regular World Cup victory for Cologna since skiathlon in Sochi Feb. 2013
  • Third individual World Cup podium for Belov


Dario Cologna SUI

It was a great win for me today. I caught Sergey with about 3 km to the finish and I knew that if I just stayed close to him we would have a fast finish. I know he is a great sprinter. I like racing in Russia. I have good memories from Sochi last winter. It’s a nice country to come to and compete. The courses are well prepared and the people are great.

Evgeniy Belov RUS

I am happy with my result today. It was great to win in Russia. I feel very strong after the Tour de Ski and I like racing in the minus temperatures. I know there courses very well so this is a great result.

Sergey Ustiugov RUS

This is a great finish for me. It was very difficult and when Dario caught me I knew that if I could push very hard there was a chance for a podium. This is my first podium in a distance competition on the World Cup. I have only been in the sprint before. I am looking forward to tomorrow’s sprint competition.


15 km F interval start
1. Dario Cologna SUI 36:53.4
2. Evgeniy Belov RUS +16.3
3. Sergey Ustiugov RUS +28.8

1. Martin Johnsrud Sundby NOR 1189 pts
2. Petter Northug Jr. NOR 849 pts
3. Calle Halfvarsson NOR 806 pts

1. Martin Johnsrud Sundby NOR 528 pts
2. Dario Cologna SUI 479 pts
3. Calle Halfvarsson SWE 371 pts

1. Francesco De Fabiani ITA 175 pts
2. Iivo Niskanen FIN 169 pts
3. Sondre Turvoll Fossli NOR 159 pts

Complete results are available at: