"Did you know" 10/15 km classic

18 March 2017 11:47
Stina Nilsson SWE
Stina Nilsson SWE -

World Cup - 10/15km Classic - Quebec - 18 March, 2017


Bjørgen looking to complete “perfect” classic season

  •  Marit Bjørgen has won in all of her three previous starts in 10km classic this season, winning in Ruka, Otepää and the WSC in Lahti.
  • Bjørgen is unbeaten in classic style distance races this season (individual start and mass start), winning in all of her five starts (including WSC).
  • Bjørgen has finished on the podium in 21 of her last 24 starts in 10km classic in World Cup, World Championships and Olympic Games. She has finished on the podium in 19 of her 20 World Cup races in 10km classic in the last eight years, but finished outside the podium in two of her three starts in WSC and OWG in this period (5th in Sotsji 2014 and 16th in Liberec 2009).
  • Bjørgen has won 14 World Cup races in 10km classic, second all-time behind Justyna Kowalczyk (18). Third is Virpi Kuitunen on 11 wins.
  • Bjørgen won her last (and only) World Cup distance race in Canada more than 11 years ago, the skiathlon in Vernon In December 2005.
  • Heidi Weng has finished on the World Cup podium on 66 occasions, equal with Stefania Belmondo in fifth position in the all-time list. Only Marit Bjørgen (172), Justyna Kowalczyk (104), Therese Johaug (97) and Elena Välbe (81) have claimed more podiums.
  • Weng won two distance races in Canada during the Ski Tour Canada last season. Only Justyna Kowalczyk (4) and Elena Välbe (3) have won more World Cup distance races in Canada.
  • Krista Pärmäkoski has never won a 10km classic race in World Cup or Championships. She has finished second on three occasions, latest in Ruka in November 2016, behind Marit Bjørgen. Kerttu Niskanen (twice) and Anne Kyllönen (twice) has also finished on the World Cup podium in 10km classic.
  • Stina Nilsson has eight World Cup victories this season and will be the athlete with the most wins this season. Nilsson could still reach more wins, but if she finishes on eight it will be the lowest number of wins for the most winning woman since Virpi Kuitunen ended the season 2007/2008 on eight wins. Marit Bjørgen finished on nine wins in 2013/2014-season.
  • Heidi Weng has won the overall World Cup with 1780 points, ahead of Krista Pärmäkoski on 1455 points and Ingvild Flugstad Østberg on 1382 points.
  • A Norwegian athlete has won the overall World Cup for the fourth consecutive season, equalling Soviet Union’s feat from 1989-1992 as the only two countries to manage this.
  • After three consecutive seasons with winning at least the top three positions in the overall World Cup, Krista Pärmäkoski looks set to break the Norwegian dominance. Pärmakoski has never finished on the podium in the overall World Cup, and could become the first Finnish skier to achieve this since Aino-Kaisa Saarinen in 2008/2009-season. The last Finnish overall winner was Virpi Kuitunen in 2007/2008-season.
  • The 16 individual distance races (not including overall Tour standings) held in the World Cup so far this season have seen seven different winners. Marit Bjørgen (5 wins), Stina Nilsson (3), Heidi Weng, Ingvild Flugstad Østberg, Jessica Diggins (all 2), Krista Pärmäkoski and Justyna Kowalczyk (both 1).
  • In each of the last two seasons the distance races were won by five different athletes.




Harvey aiming for Classic history in his back yard

  • Alex Harvey won the first stage of the Tour in Quebec, the sprint on Friday. This was the sixth World Cup victory for Harvey, surpassing Bill Koch (5 victories) as the overseas-athlete with the most World Cup victories.
  • Harvey has proven to be a complete skier during this season, winning the 50km in the WSC, a sprint in Quebec and a 15km individual start in Ulricehamn. But none of Hervey's six World Cup wins has been in classic style races. Five of the six races have been pure free races, while one victory is a skiathlon from the World Cup final in 2014.
  • Harvey’s best result in a classic distance race is a second place in the 20km classic in the Tour de Ski 2012.
  • Harvey has never won a World Cup Tour, finishing second in the World Cup final Tour in 2014.
  • Harvey is currently third in the overall World Cup and could finish on the podium of the overall World Cup for the second time - he was third in 2014 as well. His fellow countryman Devon Kershaw finished second in 2012. American Bill Koch also finished on the overall podium on two occasions, winning in 1982 and finishing third in 1983.
  • Gunde Svan has the most World Cup wins in the 15km classic style with seven, one more than Bjørn Dæhlie, Axel Teichmann and Lukas Bauer.
  • Martin Johnsrud Sundby, Alexey Poltoranin and Vladimir Smirnov have five victories each.
  • Sundby has won four of the last six 15km classic held in the World Cup, but is not competing in Canada.
  • Dario Cologna has four World Cup victories in this event and a total of 12 podiums. This is just one behind Pål Gunnar Mikkelsplass on top of the all-time list with 13 World Cup podiums in this event. Gunde Svan and Alexey Poltoranin also have 12 World Cup podiums in the 15km classic.
  • Poltoranin has finished on the podium in 10 of his last 16 World Cup starts in the 15km classic.
  • Iivo Niskanen has finished on the podium in all of his 15km classic starts this season, winning in Ruka in November and in Lahti in the World Championships and finishing second in Otepää in February 2017. Niskanen has won two World Cup races in 15km classic, both held in Ruka, Finland.
  • Niskanen (2) and Martin Johnsrud Sundby (4) are the only two athletes to win more than once in the last 10 World cup events held in the 15km classic.
  • Matti Heikkinen has raced 15km classic on 18 occasions in World Cup and Olympic Games since his gold in WSC Oslo in 2011. He has not finished on the podium in any of these 18 races, his best result is a fifth place in the World Cup in Otepää in February 2017.
  • Martin Johnsrud Sundby has won the overall World Cup with his 1626 points. Sergey Ustiugov (1176) is second and Alex Harvey is third on 894 points, Matti Heikkinen (837) is fourth. The top five in the overall World Cup at the moment are representing five different countries, in contrast to last season when Norway won all the three places on the podium.
  • Sundby is the first to successfully defend his overall World Cup title since Dario Cologna in 2012.