Did you know? Fun facts about Davos sprints

15 December 2013 07:35
Davos -


Sprint freestyle: KIkkan Randall the woman to beat.

  • Kikkan Randall (USA) has won the last three World Cup sprint freestyle races, including Tour stages.
  • Randall won four of the five sprint free races held in the 2012/2013-season. She finished second in the other race behind Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR) in Canmore in Dec 2012. 
  • Randall finished a disappointing 26th after a fall in the quarterfinals in the sprint freestyle at the World Championships in Oslo in Feb 2011. Since then she has raced sprint free 12 times, and ended up on the podium in 10 of these races, including six wins. 
  • Randall won the last sprint free World Cup held in Davos, in December 2011. The only female athlete to win the sprint in Davos twice is Petra Majdic (SLO), who won in 2008 and 2009.
  • Justyna Kowalczyk (POL) has never been on the podium in a sprint free event in Davos. A sixth place in 2010 is her best result there. She did, however, win the sprint classic in Feb 2013.
  • Marit Bjørgen (NOR) is the only female athlete to win both sprint and distance races in Davos. She also won both in the same year, in Dec 2010.
  • Bjørgen has the most individual podium finishes in Davos (ahead of Saturday’s race) with eight.
  • Bjørgen is on three wins in Davos, and could equal, and surpass Elena Välbe (RUS) and Virpi Kuitunen (FIN), who both have four wins in Davos (all in distance races). 
  • Marit Bjørgen has been on the podium in five of her last nine starts in sprint freestyle, winning four.
  • Bjørgen has not won a sprint free race since a Tour de Ski stage in January 2012.
  • Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR) has been on the podium in six of her last eight starts in sprint freestyle, going back two years since (and including) Davos in December 2011.


King of sprint Emil Jönsson starts season in his favorite discipline.

  • Emil Jönsson (SWE) has the most sprint wins of all male athletes with 16. This includes World Cup, Tour stages and OG/WCh. Jönsson has won eight sprints both in freestyle and in classical style.
  • Jönsson’s last three sprint wins have all been in freestyle, all last season. They were Jönsson’s only wins in the 2012/2013-season.
  • Jönsson won the sprint freestyle event in Davos in Dec 2010 and finished third in Dec 2011. 
  • Alexey Petukhov (RUS) is the only athlete with more podium finishes than Jönsson in Davos, with three, all in the last three editions. Petukhov won in Dec 2011, and was also on the podium in 2010 (2nd) and in 2009 (3rd).
  • No athlete has managed to win a sprint event in Davos twice. In six races held, Alexey Petukhov, Emil Jönsson, John Kristian Dahl (NOR), Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ), Björn Lind (SWE) and Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR) each has won once.
  • Alexey Poltoranin (KAZ) is the only man to win both sprint and distance World Cup in Davos. He won 15km classic style in Dec 2010, and sprint classic style in Feb 2013.

Sweden trying to end Norwegian sprint freestyle dominance

  • Norwegian athletes have the most wins in sprint freestyle World Cups, Tour stages and OG/WCh combined with 38. Sweden is second with 25.
  • In the last three seasons Swedish athletes have won eight races in sprint freestyle, while Norwegian athletes only have won five.
  • The last seven events in sprint freestyle with a Norwegian winner have been won by six different athletes. The only Norwegian to win twice in sprint free in the last four years is Ola Vigen Hattestad, who won twice in 2011 (Liberec and Düsseldorf World Cup).

Follow us on Twitter: International Ski Federation @fiscrosscountry
                                                      Infostrada Sports @Infostrada2014