Did you know? Fun facts for Lahti Ski Games sprints

01 March 2014 07:52
Emil Joensson SWE
Emil Joensson SWE -


  • Falla looking to follow up Olympic gold with first WC-podium since Dec 2012.
    Maiken Caspersen Falla (NOR) won the gold medal in the Olympic Games in Sochi. Falla has not been on the podium in the last nine sprint freestyle races in World Cup and tour stages, since winning in Canmore in Dec 2012.
  • Falla has only one appearance in a final in sprint free this season, when she was 4th in Toblach just ahead of Sochi 2014.
  • Ingvild Flugstad Østberg (NOR) won a silver medal in Sochi in sprint. Østberg has never been better than 3rd in a regular World Cup sprint (classic and freestyle). She did, however, win a sprint free stage in the Tour de Ski in Jan 2014.
  • Marit Bjørgen (NOR) has won the sprint in Lahti on three occasions, including 2011 and 2012. Kikkan Randall won in 2013. Bjørgen is the only female athlete to win a Lahti sprint more than once.
  • Denise Herrmann (GER) is currently leading the sprint WC-standings this season with 442 points, ahead of Kikkan Randall (382) and Ingvild Flugstad Østberg (301).
  • Herrmann could be the first German skier to win the overall sprint World Cup. Only once before has a German skier finished on the overall sprint podium, when Manuela Henkel was third in 2000/2001-season.
  • Denise Herrmann has never won a World Cup race or a tour stage. Her first ever WC-podium was a third place in Davos on 15 Dec 2013 in sprint freestyle. Herrmann has five podium finishes in World Cup and tour stages, without a win. Only Claudia Nystad (GER) has more finishes on the podium without winning a race, she has finished 10 times on the podium in World Cup, championships and tour stages.
  • If Denise Herrmann wins in Lahti, she will be the first German lady to win a World Cup sprint race since Evi Sachenbacher-Stehle won the sprint freestyle in Garmisch-Partenkirchen in Dec 2001. Stehle’s win is the only win for Germany in sprint for ladies.
  • Laurien Van der Graaf (SUI) has never won a World Cup race, her best result is a second place finish in Nove Mesto on 11 Jan 2014. If Van der Graaf wins she will be the first Swiss lady to win a World Cup races since Evi Kratzer won 10km classic in Calgary in Jan 1987.


 Emil Jönsson to continue his Lahti dominance?

  • Emil Jönsson (SWE) has won the last three sprint races held in Lahti (classic style in 2011 and 2012, and freestyle in 2013). Lahti is Jönsson’s best World Cup city, together with Canmore where he also has three wins. 
  • Emil Jönsson (SWE) has seven World Cup wins in sprint freestyle, equaling the most with Tor Arne Hetland (NOR). If Jönsson wins here, he will be the male athlete with the most World Cup wins in sprint freestyle.
  • The last nine sprints for men in freestyle in World Cup and tour stages have had nine different winners (not including WCH and OG).
  • Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR) won the Olympic gold in sprint, and also the last World Cup event in Toblach just ahead of the OG.
  • Hattestad could be only the second male athlete to win three consecutive events in sprint free (including World Cup, tour stages and championships). Björn Lind (SWE) won three in a row in 2005/2006, including Olympic gold in Torino 2006.
  • Hattestad is currently at 12 World Cup sprint wins, one behind Emil Jönsson with 13 wins. The Norwegian has won six World Cup races in freestyle, one behind Jönsson and Tor Arne Hetland with seven wins.
  • Josef Wenzl leads the overall sprint World Cup with 256 points, ahead of Federico Pellegrino (243) and Eirik Brandsdal (232).
  • Wenzl has not won a World Cup race since winning in Düsseldorf in Oct 2007, his only WC-win. Wenzl has finished on the podium twice this season, he was second in Szklarska Poreba and third in Toblach.
  • Wenzl is the only German male athlete to finish on the podium in sprint free since Tobias Angerer was third in Rybinsk in Jan 2007.
  • Pellegrino is closing in on his first career win. The Italian has finished four times in second place on the World Cup and tour stages in sprint freestyle. 
  • If Pellegrino wins he will be the first Italian man to win a sprint race since Renato Pasini won in Rybinsk 31 Jan 2009.
  • An Italian skier has finished second in the overall sprint World Cup on three occasions: Fulvio Valbusa (96/97), Cristian Zorzi (00/01) and Renato Pasini (08/09).
  • All 17 seasons with a separate sprint World Cup have had an overall winner from Norway or Sweden. The last four seasons a Swede has won the sprint cup, with Emil Jönsson winning three of those.