Did you know? Fun facts for the Holmenkollen 50 km

07 March 2014 13:05
Holmenkollen 50 km 2013
Holmenkollen 50 km 2013 -
  • The legendary 50 km race in Holmenkollen, Oslo, has been organised since 1902, when Karl Hovelsen (NOR) won the race.
  •  Thorleif Haug (NOR) has the most wins with six (1918, 1919, 1920, 1921, 1923, 1924). In addition to Haug, only Lauritz Bergendahl (five wins) and Elling Rønes (four wins) have won more than three times.
  • Of today’s active athletes, only Anders Södergren (SWE) has won more than once in the World Cup (2006 and 2008). Both Södergren’s wins were in freestyle.
  • Södergren, Petter Northug or Alexander Legkov could be the first athlete to win the Holmenkollen 50 km both in freestyle and classic style if they win on Saturday.
  • If Alexander Legkov wins he will be the first athlete to win the Holmenkollen 50 km in two consecutive years in the history of the World Cup. However, Petter Northug won two years in a row 2010 (World Cup) and 2011 (World Championships). Both races were held in freestyle.
  • Legkov has won the last two international 50 km races held, OG in Sochi 2014 and World Cup in Holmenkollen 2013. Both were in freestyle.
  • Legkov’s only World Cup win in classic style came just ahead of OG 2014, winning the 15 km classic in Dobbiaco on 1 Feb 2014. He has
  • The last two 50 km races held in classic style in Holmenkollen are won by a Norwegian skier. Eldar Rønning won 2012 and Odd-Bjørn Hjelmeset 2007. 
  • Dario Cologna (SUI) was back racing again at the Olympic Games after a long injury lay-off. Cologna won two gold medals in Sochi, but has never won a 50 km race in World Cup or championships. He was second in the WCH 50km in Val di Fiemme 2013, and second in Holmenkollen 50 km in 2012. Both were held in classic style.
  • Cologna has 30 individual podium finishes in the World Cup. He is one behind Petter Northug on 31 WC-podiums. Northug has the most podium finishes of the current active male athletes.
  • Martin Johnsrud Sundby (NOR) is leading the overall World Cup with 1127 points, ahead of Chris Jespersen (NOR) 739 points, and Alexander Legkov (RUS) 686 points. Petter Northug is fourth with 539 points.
  • Sundby has won only three individual single World Cup races in his career, all 15km races with individual start. In addition he has won the Opening tour in Kuusamo and the Tour de Ski this season.
  • Sundby has been on the podium in the last two 50 km races in Holmenkollen. He was second in 2013 in freestyle, and third in 2012 in classic style.
  • Northug has finished on the overall WC-podium in the last five seasons, winning twice.
  • Northug is the only Norwegian to win the overall World Cup since Bjørn Dæhlie won for a record sixth time in 1998/1999.
  • A country has not won all three top positions in the World Cup overall in the men’s class since Sweden in 1986/1987 with Torgny Mogren, Thomas Wassberg and Gunde Svan.
  • Alexander Legkov was second in the overall World Cup last season. No man representing Russia has won the overall World Cup. Alexander Zavjalov has won, representing Soviet Union.