Did you know? Fun facts for Toblach sprints

02 February 2014 07:14
Toblach sprints
Toblach sprints -


Sprint freestyle: Randall looking for another hat-trick

  •  Kikkan Randall (USA) could win her third consecutive World Cup race in sprint freestyle in Toblach. If she wins, it will be the third time she wins three World Cup races in a row in this discipline. No other athlete has won three consecutive WC-races in sprint free since Marit Bjørgen in 2006.
  • Randall has only been outside the final (top 6) in two of her 22 last starts in sprint freestyle (World Cup, World Championships and tour stages). WCH in Oslo 2011 was one of these, when she was only 26th.
  • Randall has been on the podium in the last eight World Cup races in sprint freestyle. 
  • Denise Herrmann (GER) is currently leading the sprint WC-standings this season on 362 points, ahead of Kikkan Randall (337) and Laurien Van der Graaf (242). 
  • Herrmann could be the first German skier to win the overall sprint World Cup. Only once before has a German skier finished on the overall sprint podium, when Manuela Henkel was third in 2000/2001-season.
  • Denise Herrmann has never won a World Cup race or a Tour stage. Her first ever WC-podium was a third place in Davos on 15 Dec 2013 in sprint freestyle. 
  • If Denise Herrmann wins in Toblach, she will be the first German lady to win a World Cup sprint race since Evi Sachenbacher-Stehle won the sprint freestyle in Garmisch-Partenkirchen in Dec 2001. Stehle’s win is the only win for Germany in sprint for ladies. 
  • Laurien Van der Graaf (SUI) has never won a World Cup race, her best result is a second place in Nove Mesto on 11 Jan 2014. If Van der Graaf wins she will be the first Swiss lady to win a World Cup race since Evi Kratzer won the 10km classic in Calgary in Jan 1987.
  • The next World Cup-win for Norway will be their win number 50 in sprint for ladies. Norwegian athletes have won 49 of the 121 ladies World Cup sprints held.



Sprint freestyle: Scandinavian sprint dominance ending?

  • Norway has finished with at least one male athlete on the overall sprint World Cup podium in all 17 seasons. At the moment the best Norwegian is Eirik Brandsdal in 6th place, though only 76 points behind the leader Pellegrino.
  • All 17 seasons with a separate sprint World Cup have had an overall winner from Norway or Sweden. The last four seasons a Swede has won the sprint cup, with Emil Jönsson winning three of those.
  • Emil Jönsson (SWE) has seven World Cup wins in sprint freestyle, equally most with Tor Arne Hetland (NOR). If Jönsson wins here, he will be the male athlete with the most World Cup wins in sprint freestyle.
  • The last eight sprints for men in freestyle in World Cup and tour stages have had eight different winners.
  •  Emil Jönsson is the only man to win more than once in the last 18 sprint freestyle races (including championships and Tour stages) for men, since (and including) Marcus Hellner’s win in World Championship in Oslo Feb 2011. Jönsson has won three races since then, and 15 athletes have one win each.
  • The last five wins by Norwegian men in sprint freestyle, World Cup and Tour stages, have been won by five different athletes. Anders Gløersen, Petter Northug, Finn Hågen Krogh, Eirik Brandsdal and Ola Vigen Hattestad have one win each the last two years, going back to December 2011. 
  • Federico Pellegrino leads the overall sprint World Cup with 228 points, ahead of Nikita Kriukov (214) and Josef Wenzl (196).
  • Pellegrino is closing in on his first career win. The Italian has finished four times in second place in the World Cup and tour stages in sprint freestyle. 
  • If Pellegrino wins he will be the first Italian man to win a sprint race since Renato Pasini won in Rybinsk 31 Jan 2009.
  • An Italian skier has finished second in the overall sprint World Cup on three occasions: Fulvio Valbusa (96/97), Cristian Zorzi (00/01) and Renato Pasini (08/09).