"Did you know" Holmenkollen 30 km

12 March 2017 06:29
Marit Bjoergen NOR
Marit Bjoergen NOR -

World Cup - Ladies' 30km Classic - Oslo - 12 March, 2017

Bjørgen looking for World Championships/Holmenkollen double

  • The ladies' 30km will be held in Holmenkollen for the 23nd time - the first was held in 1988, when Marjo Matikainen won the race.
  • After Justyna Kowalczyk's victory in the 30km at the Olympic Games in Vancouver 2010, Marit Bjørgen (7) or Therese Johaug (4) have won all eleven 30km races held in the World Cup, World Championships and Olympic Games combined.
  • With Johaug currently suspended, Bjørgen must perform to keep the Norwegian streak going. Bjørgen (5) has claimed most wins in 30km races in Oslo. 
  • Last season, Johaug won in Holmenkollen ahead of Ingvild Flugstad Østberg and Anne Kyllönen. In 2015 (free technique), Norway claimed all podium places, which was the second time this happened after 2010 (also Norway). No country has ever claimed all podium places in a 30km classic style race in Holmenkollen.
  • The last non-Norwegian to win the 30km race in Holmenkollen was Valentina Shevchenko (2008). The last non-Norwegian to win in classic style was Aino-Kaisa Saarinen in 2007. These two years (2007 and 2008) are also the last two editions without any Norwegians on the podium.
  • Norway has won a record nine times in this event in Oslo, followed by Russia on eight. No other country claimed more than two victories (Finland and Italy).
  • The 30km race in Oslo has previously been held after a World Championship/Olympic Games 30km on 12 different occasions. Marit Bjørgen is the only athlete who managed to win both races, as she did so in 2005 and 2014.
  • No athlete has won the 30km in Holmenkollen held in the weekend after the 30km at a Championships, as both Bjørgen’s victories in Oslo came two weekends after her WSC/OWG gold.
  • Ahead of this race, Heidi Weng is leading the overall World Cup with 1665 points, ahead of Krista Pärmäkoski on 1342 points and Ingvild Flugstad Østberg on 1317 points.
  • Weng or Østberg could become the sixth Norwegian female athletes to win the overall World Cup.
  • A Norwegian athlete could win the overall World Cup for the fourth consecutive season, equalling Soviet Union’s record from 1989-1992.
  • Krista Pärmäkoski looks set to break the Norwegian dominance. Pärmakoski has never finished on the podium in the overall World Cup and could become the first Finnish skier to achieve this since Aino-Kaisa Saarinen in 2008/09. The last Finnish overall winner was Virpi Kuitunen in 2007/08.