Did you know? Toblach 10/15 km Classic

20 December 2015 08:40
Justyna Kowalczyk POL
Justyna Kowalczyk POL -

LADIES - 10 km Classic 

Johaug to continue winning streak this season?

  • Therese Johaug has won all four individual distance races held in the World Cup so far this season. In addition Johaug also won the Tour in Ruka overall, bringing her season total up to five WC wins.
  • Johaug also won the first four distance races in the World Cup last season, but only won two of the last 12 (the last two stages of the Tour de Ski). After Johaug’s opening four wins Marit Bjørgen won five consecutive distance races.
  • If Johaug wins in Toblach it will be the first time she wins five consecutive distance races within a season. Johaug previously won five straight races from March to December 2014. Also Marit Bjørgen (December 2014-January 2015), Bente Skari (January-March 2003), and Elena Välbe (February-March 1997) have five consecutive World Cup wins in distance races, while the record holder is Manuela Di Centa with six straight wins in February-March 1996.
  • Johaug’s next win will be her 25th victory in a World Cup distance race. She will then equal Bente Skari in fourth position on the all-time list. Marit Bjørgen (53), Elena Välbe (44) and Justyna Kowalczyk (34) have more.
  • Johaug has 67 World Cup podiums in distance races, one behind Justyna Kowalczyk (68). Elena Välbe (79) and Marit Bjørgen (94) are the only two with more than Kowalczyk.

Kowalczyk, Bjørgen and Johaug the queens of 10k classic

  • The 10km classic style will be held for the second time in Toblach. The first was on 1 February 2014, when Marit Bjørgen won, ahead of Therese Johaug and Charlotte Kalla.
  • In the last five seasons (since the start of 2010/2011 season) a total of 25 World Cup races have been held in 10km classic style. Justyna Kowalczyk has won more than half of these races (13). Marit Bjørgen has eight wins, while Therese Johaug has three wins.
  • Together these three women have won 24 of the 25 races held in 10km classic the last five years. The 25th winner is Kerttu Niskanen, who won at the Tour de Ski in Lenzerheide on 1 January 2014 (mass start). Kowalczyk and Bjørgen did not participate in this race, while Johaug finished third.
  • Kowalcyk has not won any of the last six World Cup races held in 10km classic, since winning at home in Szklarska Poreba on 19 January 2014.


MEN'S 15 km Classic 

10 races – 10 different winners

  • The 15km classic style is held in Toblach for the third time in the World Cup. Alexander Legkov won here in February 2014, while Vladimir Smirnov won in December 1993.
  • The last 10 World Cup races held over 15km classic style have finished with 10 different winners.
  • Francesco De Fabiani, Tim Tscharnke, Petter Northug, Martin Johnsrud Sundby, Iivo Niskanen, Alexander Legkov, Maxim Vylegzhanin, Alexey Poltoranin, Pål Golberg and Eldar Rønning are the last 10 winners of a 15km classic race in the World Cup.
  • The last athlete with two World Cup wins in this event is Petter Northug, who won in Lahti in March 2013 and in the Tour de Ski in January 2015.
  • In total Northug has five World Cup wins over 15km classic style. This is two fewer than the leader of the all-time list, Gunde Svan with seven wins. Bjørn Dæhlie, Lukas Bauer and Axel Teichmann all have six wins. > On the all-time list for most podiums in this event, Pål Gunnar Mikkelsplass leads with 13. Gunde Svan has 12, while Bjørn Dæhlie, Lukas Bauer and Dario Cologna all have 11 podiums. Of active skiers Alexey Poltoranin has 10 podiums, Northug has eight podiums and Martin Johnsrud Sundby has seven podiums.
  • Of the last 10 races, Alexey Poltoranin has the most podiums with five. Dario Cologna and Martin Johnsrud Sundby have three.

Sundby and Norway to continue winning streak?

  • Martin Johnsrud Sundby has won three of the four World Cup distance races held this season. Sundby won only two distance races last season, both of them before Christmas.
  •  The last athlete to win four distance races in a season was Petter Northug in 2012/2013. The record for distance wins in one season is seven, done by Petter Northug in 2009/2010 and Vladimir Smirnov in 1993/1994.
  • Norway has won the last five distance races in the World Cup, equal of their second best streaks from 1998-99 and from 1995. The all-time record is 11 consecutive distance wins, by Norway from March 1991 to March 1992. Only two other streaks are longer than five races: Sweden with seven races from March 1985-February 1986 and Sweden with six races from March 1986- December 1986.
  • Last season Norway won four of the five distance races held before Christmas, but “only” won four of the 11 races held after New Year's Day.

* Information provided by Infostrada Sports