FIS Cross-Country World Cup is back in Nove Mesto na Morave (CZE)

07 January 2014 19:51
Nove Mesto na Morave by night
Nove Mesto na Morave by night -

Despite warm weather across central Europe, Nove Mesto na Morave (CZE) is ready to welcome the world’s best sprinters this weekend.

The Organizing Committee has prepared 2.5 km long loop, which has become a training and competition base for most of the Czech ski clubs. Last weekend, Nove Mesto successfully hosted the second stage of the FIS Slavic Cup, which had to be moved to Nove Mesto from Jablonec due to lack of snow.

“The World Cup competition course will be perfect and snowy white. The Organizers stored the artificial snow in deposits and the weather forecast says colder period is coming for the weekend,” Cestmir Skrbek, the sport manager of the Czech Ski Association said.

The competition course is between 8 and 10 meters wide and the layer is about 50 cm thick. “We transported the snow from the deposits on the track just before Christmas. The total length of the course is 2.5 km, more than we need for the sprint World Cup,” Vlastimil Jakes, the chief of the OC said.

Competition program

Saturday, 11th January 2014

14:00 CET                                                                    Qualification Sprint free ladies/men

16:00 CET                                                                    Quarterfinals Sprint free ladies/men

Sunday, 12th January 2014                                        

11:40 CET                                                                    Finals Team sprint classic ladies/men

Winners 2012

Ladies 15 km Mass Start Classic

1. Marit Bjørgen, (NOR)
2. Justyna Kowalczyk (POL)
3. Therese Johaug (NOR)

Men 30 km Mass Start Classic

1. Johan Olsson, (SWE)
2. Dario Cologna, (SUI)
3. Maxim Vylegzhanin (RUS)

Ladies 4x5 km Relay

1. Norway I (Skofterud, Johaug, Jacobsen, Bjørgen)
2. Finland (Sarasoja-Lilja, Saarinen, Roponen, Lahteenmaki)
3. Norway II (Weng, Haga, Kristofersen, Flugstad Østberg)

Men 4x10 km Relay

1. Norway I (Rønning, Dyrhaug, Johnsrud Sundby, Northug)
2. Russia I (Japarov, Volzhentsev, Glavatskikh, Vylegzhanin)
3. Sweden (Richardsson, Olsson, Södergren, Hellner)