FIS Cross-Country World Cup gets underway in Ruka, FIN

24 November 2015 12:47
Ruka Ski Stadium
Ruka Ski Stadium -

For the 14th time, the FIS Cross-Country World Cup and the Nordic Opening is going to take place in Ruka (FIN). This upcoming weekend, the FIS Cross-Country World Cup will begin in the gateway to Lapland with the three-stage World Cup – the Ruka Triple.

What is the Ruka Triple?
The Ruka Triple is a stage series of World Cup competitions. Three competitions will take place in three days. Starting on Friday, Ruka Triple gets underway with a classical sprint. The winner of the sprint gets 30 bonus seconds, which will be subtracted from the actual race time. Saturday’s programme features ladies’ 5 km free technique and men’s 10 km free technique interval start. The first World Cup and first stage of the season will be concluded with the pursuit in classic technique. Whoever crosses the finish line first is the winner of the Ruka Triple and gets a bonus of 200 points. Winner of the day gets 50 World Cup points.

The grand total of the prize money distributed equally between ladies and men is 240,000 CHF. The winner of the Ruka Triple will take home 33,500 CHF. An additional 5,000 CHF is waiting for the daily winner.

Competition Programme

Friday 27/11/2015
10:45 Sprint Classic Qualification
13:15 Sprint Classic Finals
17:00 Prize Giving ceremony in town Sprint L+M

Saturday 28/11/2015
11:15 10 km F Ladies
13:00 15 km F Men

Sunday 29/11/2015
11:15 Pursuit C Ladies
12:30 Pursuit C Men

Ruka Triple on Social Media