FIS Cross-Country World Cup returns to Asiago (ITA)

12 December 2013 09:55
Asiago -

Asiago is counting down the days until the 21 December when the FIS Cross-Country World Cup returns to the picturesque town in Northern Italy with two sprint events in classic technique.

World Cup action in the streets of Asiago

The Millepini course is located in downtown Asiago and crosses the municipal gardens, next to the city center. The Local Organizing Committee has worked hard to cover the 1,300 m course with snow. Snow has been produced by snow canons and will be transported to the course.

“It’s a great honor for us to welcome the FIS Cross-Country World Cup in Asiago after a five-year break. We've been working hard since we hosted the stage of the FIS Toru de Ski to organize the World Cup once again.” LOC President Andrea Gios said.

World Cup Ceremony on Friday night

Access to competitions is free of charge on both days. On Friday evening at 18:00 an opening ceremony will be held in Asiago centre and racing bibs will be handed over to the best competitors. The awards ceremony of the individual classic sprint will take place at the same place on Saturday evening.

Asiago – home of skiing

The little town of Asiago is located at 1,001 meters above sea level. Completely rebuilt after First World War, Asiago is famous for its architectural beauty, bright streets and large squares. The traditional Christmas market named Christmas Gardens is open, with plenty of local products to taste and a magical atmosphere to enjoy.

The area around the town of Asiago is named Asiago 7 Comuni plateau and offers over 500k of Cross-Country Skiing trails in seven centers that suit any kind of athlete or ski-lover.

Winners 2008

Men sprint free

1.    Petter Northug  Jr. NOR

2.    Nikolay Chebotko KAZ

3.    Tor Arne Hetland NOR

Ladies sprint free

1.    Charlotte Kalla SWE

2.    Natalia Korosteleva RUS

3.    Justyna Kowalczyk POL

Starting Times*

Saturday, 21st December 2013     Ladies/men sprint classic 10:35 CET

Sunday, 22nd December 2013      Ladies/men team sprint classic 11:30 CET

*Subject to change