Johaug wins 5th National title in dominant fashion, Oestensen shocks men's field - UPDATED

16 January 2014 11:50
Johaug260213mf835 -

Tour de Ski winner Therese Johaug has won her 5th Norwegian ski title, this time in the 10 km classic interval start competition.  She beat a strong field of World Cup stars including, Weng, Bjoergen, Jacobsen and Steira by over one minute in her victory.  Her winning time of 29:35.2 was enough to beat Heidi Weng by +1:00.2 who took second and Marit Bjoergen in third by +1:11.2. 

Johaug told NRK "It's very big. It's fun to succeed so well at 10 km classic. I do not often win at this distance."

In the men's competition Simen Haakon Oestensen won his second National title with his victory in the 15 km classic competition.  His winning time of 40:57.3 was enough for a +3.7 over Tour de Ski winner Martin Johnsrud Sundby who took second.  In third was Simen Andreas Sveen +41.2.  

Ladies' top 6

1. Therese Johaug 29:35.2
2. Heidi Weng +1:00.2
3. Marit Bjørgen +1:11.2
4. Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen +1:24.1
5. Ingvild Flugstad Østberg +1:37.5
6. Kristin Størmer Steira +1:59.1

Men's top 5

1.OESTENSEN Simen Haakon 40:57.3
2.SUNDBY Martin Johnsrud + 3.7
3.SVEEN Simen Andreas + 41.2
4.Dyrhaugen Niklas + 47.8
5.Gjerdalen Tord Asle + 52.3

Complete results are available HERE.