Kikkan Randall (USA) and Ola Vigen Hattestad (NOR) took third Sprint World Cup titles

20 March 2014 11:48
Kikkan Randall (USA) with her teammates
Kikkan Randall (USA) with her teammates -

Kikkan Randall (USA) clinched her third consecutive sprint crystal globe becoming only the third woman to win the sprint globe three consecutive years. Bjoergen won it four straight times between 2003-2006, and Bente Skari (NOR) won five in a row from 1998-2002.Denise Herrmann (GER) finished in second place and Marit Bjørgen in third place.

The men's overall World Cup sprint title was decided last Friday in Falun.Before the final sprint of the season Ola Vigen Hattestad led compatriot Eirik Brandsdal by 41 points with 50 points left to be awarded. With sprint leader Ola Vigen Hattestad "ranked as last" for a rules infraction during his quarterfinal heat it meant that if Brandsdal finished third or better in the final he would make up the 41 point deficit to Hattestad to win the overall. A big charge from the Swedish trio in the final and Canada's Alex Harvey bumped Brandsdal to 5th halfway down the homestretch and he end up settling for 6th.  

Hattestad hung on by just eight points to take his third overall Sprint World Cup title. In second place was Brandsdal and in third was Germany's Josef Wenzl. Wenzl is the only German male skier to ever make an overall Sprint title podium.