Kristin Stoermer Steira and Jens Arne Svartedal awarded Egeberg Honorary prize

06 April 2011 12:00

Egeberg Honorary Prize 2010 was awarded to Hedda Berntsen and Jens Arne Svartedal, while the prize for 2011 was given to Kristin Stormer Steira.

The Egebergs Ærespris ("Honorary Prize of Egeberg") is a prize awarded to Norwegian athletes who excel in more than one sport. The prize was created by Ferdinand Julian Egeberg, and consists of a bronze statuette modeled by sculptor Magnus Vigrestad.

Today the prize is awarded by the Norwegian Olympic and Paralympic Committee and Confederation of Sports, and given to Norwegian sports people who have excelled nationally in at least two sports, and excelled internationally in at least one of these.

2010 prize for Berntsen and Svartedal

Jens Arne Svartedal was given the prize for his long achievements in sport. He is sprint World Champion from Sapporo 2007 and won couple of World Cup competitions. Svartedal is also Norwegian champion in duathlon (running and cycling).

Hedda Brentsen got the award for excellence in skicross and telemark.

2011 prize for Steira

Kristin Stoermer Steira was awarded the prize thanks to her success in Cross-Country skiing. Steira won two individual silver and bronze medals and has two gold medals from relay at the Nordic World Ski Championships. Steira was member of the winning Olympic relay in Vancouver 2010. She is also excellent in athletics. She is Norwegian champion in 5000m.

Read more about Egeberg Honorary Prize atÆrespris