Ladies' Overall Tour de Ski preview

28 December 2016 13:21
Ladies' Overall Tour preview
Ladies' Overall Tour preview -

Norwegians looking for fourth consecutive clean sweep

This is edition number 11 of the Tour de Ski. Justyna Kowalczyk has more overall Tour-wins than any other athlete with four. The only four other women to win the overall classification are Virpi Kuitunen and Therese Johaug twice, Charlotte Kalla and Marit Bjørgen with one win.

Kowalczyk has 14 stage wins in the Tour de Ski, most of all athletes (Petter Northug has 13 wins in men’s competition). Among the women Marit Bjørgen and Therese Johaug are closest with 11 stage wins, Virpi Kuitunen has eight wins.

Kowalczyk also has the most stage podiums with 28. Bjørgen and Johaug are second with 25 stage podiums. Petter Northug has the most stage podiums of all with 31.

Norway has claimed all three overall podium positions in the last three Tour de Ski events.

Stefanie Böhler is the only woman to have started in all 10 editions of the Tour de Ski. Böhler has finished the Tour seven times, with an 11th place in 2015 as her best result. Four athletes have finished Tour de Ski eight times: Therese Johaug, Justyna Kowalczyk, Valentina Shevchenko and Riitta-Liisa Roponen.

Justyna Kowalczyk has started the most Tour de Ski stages with 68. Therese Johaug has started 67, Aino-Kaisa Saarinen 66 and Böhler 63 stages.

Norwegian athletes have won 29 of the 75 stages held in the Tour de Ski. Poland has 14 wins (Kowalczyk) and Finland has 10 victories. A total of 10 different countries have won a Tour de Ski stage among the women.

Norwegian athletes have a total of 102 podiums in ladies' events, Poland and Finland are sharing second place with 29 stage podiums. A total of 13 countries have finished on the podium.

Only six different women have won World Cup Tours. Marit Bjørgen (10), Therese Johaug (5), Justyna Kowalczyk (5), Virpi Kuitunen (3), Heidi Weng (1), Charlotte Kalla (1) are the six winners.

The last 10 World Cup Tours have seen a Norwegian winner (Johaug 5, Bjørgen 4, Weng 1) since Justyna Kowalczyk won the Tour de Ski in January 2013.

Heidi Weng won her first World Cup Tour in Lillehammer in December, after eight previous overall podiums (0-2-6).

Weng has a total of 16 stage podiums in the Tour de Ski, 4th on the all-time list, behind Kowalczyk, Bjørgen and Johaug.

Weng has only one stage victory and finished second 8 times (third 7 times). No athlete has more than 15 stage finishes in 2nd and 3rd position. Kowalczyk, Bjørgen and Johaug all have 14 stage finishes in 2nd/3rd position.

Krista Pärmäkoski finished 3rd in the 3-Days Tour in Lillehammer in December. This was Finland’s first finish on the podium in an overall Tour since Virpi Kuitunen won the Tour de Ski in 2009.

Norwegian athletes won 21 consecutive World Cup Tour stages and were unbeaten from January 2014 to January 2016. Since (and including) Sophie Caldwell won the Sprint classic stage in Tour de Ski in January 2016, non-Norwegian athletes have won six of the 16 stages held.

Non-Norwegians have won the last three World Cup Tour stages held in distance races. Krista Pärmäkoski won (had the fastest time) in the pursuit both in Ski Tour Canada and in the 3-Days Tour in Lillehammer, while Jessica Diggins won the 5km freestyle in Lillehammer.