Marit Bjoergen and Simen Oestensen are the winners of Topidrettsveka 2013

12 August 2013 11:21
Marit Bjoergen wins Topidrettsveka 2013
Marit Bjoergen wins Topidrettsveka 2013 -

Marit Bjoergen and Simen Oestensen won the overall standing if Topidrettsveka 2013 as they dominated the pursuit competition on Sunday, 11th August 2013. 

The competition program of Topiedrettsveka 2013 continued on Friday with a 1.5 km classic sprint. Bjoergen powered to a narrow win over Katja Visnar (SLO). NOrwegian youngster Barbro Kvale claimed third place. On the men's side, the privat team member Simen Oestensen outsprinted Sjur Roethe and Marius Caspersen Falla. Swiss ace Dario Cologna fell out in semifinals and finished in ninth place as Petter Northug's mission was stopped in the quarterfinals and took 23rd place. 

200 m sprint dominated by specialists

After the longer sprint on Friday, Saturday featured a short 200-m competition in Free technique. On the ladies' side Slovenian sprinters showed their skills and took first and second place as Vesna Fabjan edged out Katja Visnar. Barbro Kvale (NOR) carried good performance from Friday and beat Marit Bjoergen in the B-final. Among men Ludvig Søgnen Jensen took victory ahead of Ragnar Bragvin Andresen and Timo Andre Bakken.


Before the last stage of Topidrettesveka all points were divided by two and transformed into seconds for the pursuit competition. Marit Bjoergen started as current leader and increased the time gap on the runner up Vesna Fabjan to 2:06 sec. Fabjan's Slovenian compatriot took third place. 

On the men's side Simen Oestensen took the overall win as he won the last stage with a comfortable margin of 2:39 sec. Petter Northug Jr. moved from 12th place at the start to the second in the finish. Johan Kjoelstad finished in third place as he edged out Dario Cologna who also came from behind. 

Complete Results

Includes contributions by