Men's Overall Tour de Ski preview

28 December 2016 13:15
Tour de Ski cake
Tour de Ski cake -

Sundby to equal Cologna and continue his record Tour-streak?

This is edition number 11 of the Tour de Ski. Dario Cologna has the most overall wins with three. Lukas Bauer and Martin Johnsrud Sundby have two wins, while Alexander Legkov, Petter Northug and Tobias Angerer have one each.

Petter Northug has won the most stages in Tour de Ski with 13, more than twice as many as Lukas Bauer, Martin Johnsrud Sundby, Alexey Poltoranin and Dario Cologna with five.

Northug has the most stage podiums in the Tour de Ski with 31 (Justyna Kowalczyk has 28). Dario Cologna has 21, while Martin Johnsrud Sundby is now third on the all-time list with 12 stage podiums.

Martin Johnsrud Sundby won the Tour de Ski in 2016 by 3:15.7 ahead of Finn Hågen Krogh. This is the biggest winning margin ever in the Tour de Ski. The 2015 edition has the smallest winning margin, when Petter Northug won 0:16.6 ahead of Evgeniy Belov (after Martin Johnsrud Sundby was DSQ).

Martin Johnsrud Sundby won four stages in last season’s Tour de Ski, the first time a man won four stages in a Tour de Ski.

Ahead of the 11th Tour de Ski, Petter Northug is the only athlete to finish all 75 stages held. Northug will not participate this year.

Devon Kershaw and Jean Marc Gaillard are the two other athletes to start in all 10 previous editions of the Tour de Ski.

After Northug’s 75 stages, Giorgio Di Centa has started 67 stages, Kershaw and Gaillard in 66 stages.

In total among the men, 12 different countries have won a stage in the Tour de Ski. Norway has 28 stage wins, Germany 8, Sweden, Switzerland and Russia 6 stage wins.

A total of 14 different countries have finished on the podium in a Tour de Ski stage. Norway has 70 podiums, Russia 26 and Switzerland 24.

Norway claimed the first two positions overall in the 2016 edition of the Tour de Ski. This is the second time a country occupied the first two positions, Norway took all three positions on the overall podium in 2014.

Matti Hekkinen finished third in the 3-Days Tour in Lillehammer in December. This was the first time a Finnish man finished on the overall podium of a World Cup Tour.

Martin Johnsrud Sundby has won the last eight World Cup Tour events has finished with a valid result. He also finished first in the ninth, the Tour de Ski 2015, but was later disqualified.

Apart from the 2015 Tour de Ski, Sundby is unbeaten in a World Cup Tour for more than three years, since Petter Northug won the World Cup Final in March 2013.

No other athlete has won more than two consecutive World Cup Tours (Cologna and Northug).

Sundby has the most World Cup Tour victories with 8 (from 25 held). Northug has 6 overall victories, Dario Cologna 5.

Northug has the most overall World Cup Tour-podiums with 13, ahead of Cologna’s 10 and Sundby’s 9.