Sundby gets a hard earned Holmenkollen victory

06 February 2016 14:46
Martin Johnsrud Sundby NOR
Martin Johnsrud Sundby NOR -

Norway's Martin Johnsrud Sundby has his long awaited Holmenkollen 50 km victory.  It took his 5th consecutive Holmenkollen podium to finally record his first victory on his home course.  It is the first time in the 114 year history of the event that an athlete has had 5 consecutive podiums.  

Sundby challenged the field early. Top athletes came and went as they tried to go with him but in the end it was only Russia's Maxim Vylegzhanin and Norway's Didrik Toenseth and Niklas Dyrhaug who managed to stay in contact.  The group of four stayed together of much of the race but with less than 10 km to go Sundby lifted the pace again and only Dyrhaug was able to follow leaving Vylegzhanin and Toenseth to battle for third.  Crossing the line +18.8 second back from Sundby's winning time of 2:08.41.9 was Dyrhaug for second place and in third was Vylegzhanin +1:05.4.  

Dario Cologna just back from a calf injury during the Tour de Ski withdrew from the race when pain in the calf returned.  



Martin Johnsrud Sundby, NOR

I have been waiting for this moment for 5 years. It has always been a dream to win this race. When I was 9 years old I was camping in the forest cheering for all the great skiers. My strategy was to shock the others with a hard pace from the first kilometre. I think I have never been skiing 50 km that fast from the beginning.

Niklas Dyrhaug, NOR

It was fun but it was the hardest race I have ever skied in my life. I had to work hard already in the first lap to close the gap on the leading group. I felt strong especially in the uphills. Martin deserves the victory, he was stronger than me.

Maxim Vylegzhanin, RUS

I’m very happy to be 3rd today. 50 km is a special competition for all the skiers. It was a great battle with Martin, Niklas and Didrik. I gave my best to be third. I had perfect skis. The service team did a great a job.



MEN - 50 km classic 

SUNDBY Martin Johnsrud 1984 NOR 2:08:41.9
DYRHAUG Niklas 1987 NOR +18.8
VYLEGZHANIN Maxim 1982 RUS +1:05.4
TOENSETH Didrik 1991 NOR +1:36.3
TURYSHEV Sergey 1985 RUS +2:35.8

Complete results are available HERE