Swedish national team for the World Cup season 2014/2015

30 April 2014 07:36
Swedish national team
Swedish national team -
Swedish Ski Association

Swedish Ski Association has published nine men and nine ladies that are nominated to the  the A-team training group for the season 2014/2015 with the major goal FIS Nordic World Ski Championships in Falun. Additionally, eight men and eight ladies get the chance in the development squad Team 2015.

“We have expanded the men's and women's team from eight to nine members in each team,” head coach Rikard Grip reveals. 

New faces

Jonna Sundling, 20, from IFK Umeå has been promoted to the 1 team thanks to her great performance at the FIS Nordic Junior World Ski Championships in Val di Fiemme, where she the sprint in seven seconds and as the anchor lady  decided the relay to Sweden. 

Jonna Sundling

”Jonna has a very high capacity and we already want her to train with the first team. It's an investment for the future and a girl that will surely become a valuable training partner for our experienced skiers,” Rikard Grip says. 

Hanna Erikson has been also picked up from Team 2015 to the first team as Sara Lindborg makes a comeback to the elite ladies team after a strong season. Lisa Larsen has been left out of the team due to  injuries, Magdalena Pajala has been moved to the  development team.

Simon Persson

On the men's side, sprint specialistSimon Persson is the only new name in the A team. Simon showed several times this winter, including in Davos, he has extreme speed on his skis when he is in shape. “He is a very interesting talent with high potential,” Rikard Grip confirms.

A Team

Sofia Bleckur, IFK Mora SK
Hanna Erikson, Åsarna IK
Anna Haag, IFK Mora SK
Ida Ingemarsdotter, Åsarna IK
Charlotte Kalla, Piteå Elit
Sara Lindborg, Falun-Borlänge SK
Stina Nilsson, IFK Mora SK
Jonna Sundling, IFK Umeå
Emma Wikén, Åsarna IK

Calle Halfvarsson, Falun-Borlänge SK
Marcus Hellner, Gellivare Skidallians
Emil Jönsson, IFK Mora SK
Anton Lindblad, Sollefteå Skidor IF
Lars Nelson, Åsarna IK
Johan Olsson, Åsarna IK
Daniel Richardsson, Hudiksvalls IF
Simon Persson, IFK Umeå
Teodor Peterson, Åsarna IK

Team 2015

Anna Dyvik, Falun-Borlänge SK
Hanna Falk, Ulricehamns IF
Sofia Henriksson, Strömnäs GIF
Magdalena Pajala, Piteå Elit
Evelina Settlin, Hudiksvalls IF
Marika Sundin, Sollefteå Skidor IF
Julia Svan, Vansbro AIK
Jennie Öberg, Piteå Elit

Simon Andersson, Falun-Borlänge SK
Martin Bergström, Piteå Elit
Jens Burman, Åsarna IK
Martin Johansson, IFK Mora SK
Simon Lageson, Åsarna IK
Jesper Modin, Piteå Elit
Carl Quicklund, Östersunds SK
Marcus Ruus, Gillberga SK

Read the whole story at: