Therese Johaug and Chris André Jespersen won Skarverennet 2012

22 April 2012 10:49
Therese Johaug in Nove Mesto
Therese Johaug in Nove Mesto -

Therese Johaug and Chris André Jespersen dominated final competition of the season, 38 km long Skarverennet, which goes from Finse to Ustaoset and ranks among the biggest popular competitions with about 12200 participants.

Therese Johaug became yesterday the new Skarverenn Queen as she notched sixth victory in a row. Johaug left her competitors behind soon after the start in Finse at the long climb. Marit Bjoergen was chasing Johaug but never came close enough to challenge her for the victory. Therese Johaug crossed the finish line with a clear gap of 20 seconds. Marit Bjoergen and Martine Ek Hagen were fighting for the second place. Bjoergen was by half of the ski length faster and took second place. Norwegian ladies absolutely dominated the competition occupying top 11 spots in the finish.

Strong Jespersen

Chris André Jespersen finished second in last year's Skarverennet and was among the hottest favorites for victory. Jespersen edged out Petter Northug by 5 seconds having crossed the finish line in 1:31.24. Jespersen was leading the way last 8 km but Petter Northug was coming from behind as he was more than a minute back. Russia's Evgeniy Dementiev claimed third place. The Russian tightly edged out Frenchman Jean March Gaillard when their finish times stopped at 1:32.32.

Top Results


1. Therese Johaug, IL Nansen 1.41.32,2
2. Marit Bjørgen, Rognes IL 1.41.52,0
3. Martine Ek Hagen, BUL 1.41.52,1
4. Tuva Toftdatter Staver, Heming IL 1.45.40,5
5. Astrid Øyre Slind, Oppdal IL 1.45.40,9
6. Silje Øyre Slind, Oppdal IL 1.45.41,9
7. Marthe Kristoffersen, IL Varden 1.48.33,5
8. Marthe Katrine Myhre, Vind IL 1.50.29,5
9. Anne-Tine Markset, BUL 1.51.40,0
10. Astrid Urenholdt Jacobsen, IL Heming 1.51.46,2


1. Chris Jespersen, Team Veidekke 1.31.23,6
2. Petter Northug jr., Strindheim IL 1.32.28,7
3. Eugeniy Dementiev, RUS 1.32.31,3
4. Jean Marc Gaillard, FRA 1.32.31,4
5. Martin Johansson, SVE 1.32.32,1
6. Toni Livers, Sveits 1.32.33,0 7. Robin Duvillard, FRA 1.32.33,9
8. Simen A. Sveen 1.32.43,7
9. Martin Hammer, Team Trønder-Avisa 1.32.44,6
10. Frode Andresen, Ringkollen Skiklubb 1.32.51,9

You can find the complete results HERE.