Four Freestyle skiers nominated as Flag Bearers

07 February 2014 12:06
Grishin who won gold in Vancouver will be one of the Flag Bearers
Grishin who won gold in Vancouver will be one of the Flag Bearers -
GEPA Pictures

Four Freestyle athletes will have the honour to carry the flag for their nations as they enter the stadium during the Parade of Nations at today’s Opening Ceremony in the Fisht Olympic Stadium in Sochi (RUS).

These athletes are Aleksei Grishin of Belarus, Peter Crook of the British Virgin Islands, Julia Marino of Paraguay and Dominique Ohaco of Chile.

Aleksei Grishin: Grishin won Belarus's only medal at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt-Lake City (USA), a bronze in men's aerials. Eight years later, in the 2010 edition in Vancouver (CAN), he claimed the first ever Winter Olympic gold medal for his country.

Peter Crook: Competing since 2009 in ski halfpipe, Crook is the second ever Winter Olympian to represent his country in the Games.

Julia Marino: The Paraguayan-American athlete who has competed since 2010 in the ski halfpipe and ski slopstyle disciplines, was born in Bahia Negra, Paraguay, and will be the first Winter Olympian to represent the country.

Dominique Ohaco: The 18-year-old slopestyle talent is considered as one of the South American nation’s best hopes to bring home a medal, having taken 9th place in the 2013 FIS Freestyle World Ski Championships in Voss (NOR).

“It is an honor to carry the flag of Chile in Sochi and I am very happy that they have chosen me to be the bearer,” Ohaco said.

About 90 athletes will be bearing the flags of their respective nations as they lead the delegations into the stadium starting at 20:14 local time.