US Moguls Team Named

25 November 2013 10:16
US Mogul Team named
US Mogul Team named -
Tom Kelly

The 2014 U.S. Freestyle Moguls Team, led by Olympic Champion Hannah Kearney (Norwich, VT) and Olympic bronze medalist Bryon Wilson (Butte, MT), was named this week in advance of the Dec. 14 FIS Freestyle World Cup season opener in Ruka, Finland.

The team was publicly announced at Pagosa Springs Spa and Resort in Colorado on Saturday, Nov. 23 during the Team’s final pre-season on-snow camp at the Wolf Creek Ski Area.

In total, 20 riders were named including 2009 World Champion Pat Deneen (Cle Elum, WA), Heather McPhie (Bozeman, MT) and Bradley Wilson (Butte, MT).

The team also features three newcomers due to their standout performances last season: Bruce Perry Jr. (Winter Park, CO), Keaton McCargo (Telluride, CO) and Sophia Schwartz (Sun Valley, ID).

Head coach Scott Rawles said: “I am really looking forward to the upcoming season. We have had great preparation this summer at all of our camps and all the athletes have been working very hard and are very focused on the task at hand this winter.

We had an amazing year last season and have a lot of momentum coming in to the upcoming competition season. Everyone knows this is a big year with the Olympics in Sochi and it is going to be an amazing ride with all of the great skiers that we have on our team.”

The final Olympic Team will be named in late January.

2014 U.S. Freestyle Ski Team

Name, Hometown, Club (Skis, Boots, Bindings, Poles, Helmet, Eyewear)

* Indicates Olympian


A Team

B Team

  • Patrick Deneen (Cle Elum, WA) (Hart, Lange, Look, 180s, Shred, Shred) *
  • Sho Kashima (South Lake Tahoe, CA; Heavenly Valley Ski Foundation) (ID ONE USA, Look)
  • Hannah Kearney (Norwich, VT; Waterville Valley Black & Blue Trail Smashers) (Volkl, Marker) *
  • Heather McPhie (Bozeman, MT; Bridger Freestyle) (Full Tilt, Poc, Poc) *
  • Eliza Outtrim (Hamden, CT; Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club) (Volkl, Marker, Swix, Poc, Oakley)
  • Dylan Walczyk (Rochester, NY; Ski and Snowboard Club Vail) (Full Tilt, Look)
  • Bryon Wilson (Butte, MT; Wasatch Freestyle) (ID ONE USA, Marker, Swix, Oakley) *
  • Bradley Wilson (Butte, MT; Wasatch Freestyle) (Hart, Swix, Bolle)

C Team

  • Jeremy Cota (Carabassette Valley, ME; Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club) (Bomber, Full Tilt, Swix, Oakley)
  • Joe Discoe (Telluride, CO; Telluride Freestyle Club) (Volkl, Marker, Oakley)
  • Heidi Kloser (Vail, CO; Ski and Snowboard Club Vail) (Volkl, Dalbello, Marker, Leki, Oakley)
  • Mikaela Matthews (Frisco, CO; Team Summit) (Dalbello, Oakley)
  • K.C. Oakley (Piedmont, CA; Park City Freestyle Team) (Volkl, Full Tilt, Marker, Leki, Oakley)

Coaching Staff

  • Dave Digravio (Farmington, ME; Carrabassett Valley Academy) (Volkl, Marker, Swix, Poc)
  • Ali Kariotis (Tiburon, CA; Squaw Valley Freestyle Team) (ID ONE USA, Leki)
  • Brittany Loweree (Point Lookout, NY; Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club) (Hart, Tecnica, Look, Leki)
  • Keaton McCargo (Telluride, Co; Telluride Ski and Snowboard Club)
  • Troy Murphy (Bethel, ME) (Volkl, Oakley)
  • Bruce Perry Jr. (Winter Park, CO; Winter Park Competition Center) (Volkl, Dalbello, Marker, Swix, Poc, Oakley)
  • Sophia Schwartz (Sun Valley, ID; Steamboat Springs Winter Sports Club) (Volkl, Marker, Leki, Poc)
  • Scott Rawles, Head Moguls Coach
  • Garth Hager, Moguls Coach
  • Harald Marbler, Moguls Coach
  • Lasse Fahlen, Moguls Coach