FIS Presidents

Former FIS Presidents

Presidents Kasper and Hodler

FIS has had four presidents in its history. Ivar Holmqvist, Nikolai Ramm Ostgaard, Marc Holder and current president Gian Franco Kasper have all served in the top role within FIS. The current FIS headquarters in Oberhofen, Switzerland bears Hodler's name.

MARC HODLER (SUI) 1951-1998

President from 1951 to 1998 and member of the IOC from 1963 - 2006.

Born 26th October 1918 in Bern (SUI). Marc Holder was simultaneously the first city-dwelling skier and the first university undergraduate selected for the Swiss national alpine skiing team. A serious accident while training for the World Championships in 1938 put an end to his career as a competitor. He then turned to technical and administrative activities. From 1939 to 1948, he led the Swiss alpine skiing team, then from 1940 to 1951 became Vice-President and head of the alpine skiing section of the national federation and was responsible for alpine competitions at the Winter Games in 1948. Within FIS, he presided over the downhill and slalom committee from 1946 to 1951. In 1949, he entered the Council. An all-round sportsman, his activities are diverse but always bear the mark of talent: university handball champion, captain of the Bern golf club team for 18 years, a sport which he still practises regularly, as he does tennis and swimming; three times national bridge champion, he has presided over the Swiss bridge Federation since 1944.

Upon completion of his studies at the University of Berne, he became a lawyer, and managed his practice, while at the same time carrying out his functions as juridical adviser to many different bodies, mainly in the food industry. Finally, be it the International Olympic Committee, or the Swiss Olympic Committee, these two bodies have never looked to him in vain whenever his help was needed for important tasks.


President from 1934-1951, Vice-President from 1928-1934, Honorary President from 1951-1958.

Born 1885. An army colonel, and Norwegian football champion. Distinguished himself particularly in the ski competitions at Holmenkollen. Member of the Council of the "Skiforeningen" from 1924 to 1927. President of the Norwegian Ski Association from 1927 to 1930.


President from 1924 to 1934, Honorary President until 1954. Born in Sweden in 1879. Lieutenant General, Chief of the Swedish Army. For 27 years (from 1923 onwards) he was President of the Association for the Promotion of Skiing and Open Air Activities in Sweden and, from 1923 to 1946, vice-President of the Swedish Ski Association. He was one of the pioneers who introduced alpine skiing to Sweden