Appointments of the FIS Council

12 June 2014 07:05
FIS Council 2014-2016
FIS Council 2014-2016 -

At the first Meeting of the newly-elected Council on 6th June 2014, the Council elected the following four Vice-Presidents of the International Ski Federation:

Janez Kocijancic (SLO)
Sverre Seeberg (NOR)
Sung Won Lee (KOR)
Dexter Paine (USA)

Additionally, the Council assigned the following responsibilities:

FIS Treasurer and Chairman of the Finance Commission: Sverre Seeberg (NOR)
Chairman of the FIS Doping Panel: Patrick Smith (CAN)
FIS Development Programme Working Group: Alfons Hoermann (GER)

The Council nominated the chairs and members of more than 50 FIS Committees, Sub-Committees and working groups, which included the following new Chairpersons:

Legal Committee: Chris Moore (CAN)
Committee Advertising Matters: Klaus Leistner (AUT)
Committee for Grass Skiing: Heidi Pfister-Berger (SUI)
Committee for Speed Skiing: Valentin Münzer (AUT)
Committee for European Questions: Miho Glavic (CRO)


for Alpine World Cup: Niklas Carlsson (SWE)
for Alpine Courses: Elena Gaja (ITA)
for Alpine European Cup: Herbert Mandl (AUT)
for Masters Racing: Stefano Arnhold (BRA)
for Rollerskiing: Martins Niklass (LAT)

The updated list of all FIS Committees, sub-committees and working groups will be updated and published on the FIS website shortly.

Furthermore, the Council appointed the following Honorary Members of FIS Committees in recognition of their outstanding services:

José Luis Marco (ARG), Legal Committee
Walter Trilling (FRA), Alpine Committee and Sub-Committee for Alpine Courses
Dieter Posch (AUT), Alpine Sub-Committee for European Cup
Dick Taplin (GBR), Speed Skiing Committee
Arno Staudacher (AUT), Youth and Children’s Sub-Committee
Hans Spring (SUI), Medical Committee
Hitonari Maruyama (JPN), Alpine Technical Delegates Sub-Committee
Juraj Sinaj (SVK), Alpine Sub-Committee for European Cup