French and Kazakhstanian victory in dual moguls, Méribel

16 December 2010 08:33

An extremely difficult course was waiting for the athletes in Méribel,as it had frozen to blue ice after three days of rain last week followed by freezing temperatures. A light dusting of snow overnight mildly improved conditions, but the difficulties remained and made for unpredictable results in the finals.

Guilbaut Colas (FRA) finished third in the moguls World Cup in Ruka last weekend and was very motivated to take a victory on home ground in Méribel. A big crowd of fans had showed up to cheer for their country man. Deneen was edged out by Colas, earning his 10th World Cup victory, in the finals 18-17. Deneen was first accros the line but Colas had better air and turns to take the win.

On the women's side, 18 year old Yulia Galysheva from Kazakhstan showed that she is definitely in shape for the season, winning ahead of Hannah Kearney (U.S.) and Justine Dufour-Lapointe (CAN). "I qualified first, which was a nice way to continue my quality of skiing. Unfortunately, in the finals I went too large off the top air and blew out a little in the middle section," explained Kearney. "Second place is nice, but it leaves room for improvement in China."

In only her second FIS World Cup start, 16-year-old Justine Dufour-Lapointe gave herself an early Christmas gift with a bronze medal finish in yesterdays dual mogul competition. “I’m really stoked, I actually can’t quite believe it right now because it came so fast,” said the Montreal teenager. “I think I did so well because the course looked a lot like what I’m used to in Quebec, icy and small moguls. So, I just fought really hard and did my best.”


Kearney and Deenen both kept the overall World Cup lead. This is the first time the U.S. has had two athletes in yellow at the same time since 2007 when Shannon Bahrke (Tahoe City, CA) and Nate Roberts (Park City, UT) wore the yellow jersey together.



FIS Freestyle World Cup

Maribel, France - Dec. 15, 2010

Dual Moguls



1. Guilbaut Colas, France

2. Patrick Deneen, USA

3. Bryon Wilson, USA

4. Sergey Volkov, Russia

5. Alexandre Bilodeau, Canada



1. Yulia Galysheva, Kazakhstan

2. Hannah Kearney, USA

3. Justine Dufor-Lapointe, Canada

4. Ekaterina Stolyarova. Russia

5. Regina Rakhimova, Russia