Many FIS athletes voted as year’s best – part 2

15 January 2014 21:56
Tina Maze
Tina Maze -
GEPA Pictures

Several of the leading FIS athletes have recently been recognised in their countries as the athlete of the year, or honoured as runners-up. The first part of the series was in a previous Newsflash.


For the fifth consecutive time, Justyna Kowalczyk won the Sports Personality of the Year Award in Poland. The Olympic Champion and double World Champion is the only skier to win the Tour de Ski four times in a row and one of two female skiers to claim the FIS Cross-Country World Cup three times in a row.

The Polish Sports Personality of the Year is chosen by the readers of the newspaper Przegląd Sportowy. No athlete except for Kowalcyk has been chosen more than five times to receive the award since the award was created in 1926.


Reigning FIS Alpine Ski World Cup champion Tina Maze and ski jumper Peter Prevc were selected Slovenian Athletes of the Year for 2013 at an awards ceremony in Ljubljana on 19th December 2013. This is the third Slovenian Athlete of the Year title for the 30-year-old Maze, who had her best season ever in the World Cup, listing eleven victories and scoring a record number of 2414 World Cup points, next to becoming one of just six ladies to win in all five World Cup events and one of three ladies to win in all five disciplines in a single season.

In Slovenia, the winners were chosen by 132 Slovenian sports journalists.


Norway's Annual Sports Gala took place on 4th January 2014 and chess champion Magnus Carlsen won the title – the first time a chess player received the special honour. From the FIS disciplines, Cross-Country queen Marit Bjoergen ranked fourth, with Alpine super star Aksel Lund Svindal following in fifth and Ski Jumper Anders Bardal following in eighth position.

The Norwegian Sportsperson of the Year is an annual award given by the Norwegian Association of Sports Journalists.


In Finland, the annual Sports Gala took place on 14th January 2014 with javelin thrower Tero Pitkämäki winning the award as Athlete of the Year. Snowboard star Roope Tonteri who claimed two gold medals at the 2013 FIS Snowboard World Championships in Stoneham-Quebec (CAN) ended in fourth position. Cross-Country skier Juha Mieto and Nordic Combined talent Heikki Hasu were inducted into the Finnish Hall of Fame as part of the ceremony.

In Finland, the winner is chosen by Finnish sports journalists.