Marit Bjørgen and Martin Johnsrud Sundby take BMW xDrive Trophy 2014

19 March 2014 14:51
Marit Bjoergen
Marit Bjoergen -
GEPA Pictures

Norwegian athletes Martin Johnsrud Sundby and Marit Bjørgen dominated the BMW xDrive Trophy in the 2013/14 season and left Falun (SWE) in a brand new BMW X1. The BMW xDrive Trophy ranking is the accumulation of bonus seconds and bonus World Cup points awarded from the beginning to the end of the World Cup season.

The fight for the trophy on the ladies’ side was decided in the last skiathlon competition in Falun, in which only two points separated Therese Johaug and Bjørgen before the final two competitions. With a win in the last sprint classic and a second place in the skiathlon Bjørgen took the victory. “It's just great to win a new car but I haven't decided where it should be driven yet,” Bjørgen said.

On the men’s side Johnsrud Sundby of Norway accumulated the most points in the standings. Sundby paved the way to victory dominating the FIS Tour de Ski 2014 and with strong performances in the in Oslo (NOR) and in the skiathlon. “I’m happy I can leave the World Cup Final with a brand new car. The BMW xDrive Trophy was one of my goals this season and I am glad I achieved it,” Sundby claimed.

BMW xDrive Trophy Ladies

1. Marit Bjørgen NOR                                   171 pts

2. Therese Johaug NOR                               158 pts

3. Kerttu Niskanen FIN                                  109 pts

BMW xDrive Trophy Men

1. Martin Johnsrud Sundby NOR                 242 pts

2. Alexander Legkov RUS                            161 pts

3. Alex Harvey CAN                                      139 pts