Second big air of the season takes place in Stockholm

17 November 2010 09:45

This Saturday, the Stadium Winter Jam celebrates a small jubilee. It's the fifth consecutive time that the big air show in the Stockholm Olympic Stadium of 1912 takes place. The competition in the Swedish capital is the second ramp contest of the 2011 LG Snowboard FIS World Cup season. According to this, about 70 riders will showcase their skills on November 20th, 2010.

As every year, the event features a top international rider field including the likes of everybody who is anybody.  Besides the winner of the big air season's opener in London, Slovenia's Marko Grilc, who will defend his World Cup leadership in Stockholm, it's once again one national armada to have an eye on. Led by 2010 Olympic Halfpipe runner-up Peetu Piiroinen as well as 2003 World Champion Risto Mattila and the winner of last year's Quebec big air Janne Korpi, the Finnish rippers will try to leave their stamp on the Stadium Winter Jam as they did in 2006, 2007 and 2008.

In addition, Norway's rising stars in the freestyle sky, Gjermund Braaten who triumphed at the this year as well as Staale Sandbech, who only got beaten in London by Marko Grilc, are some fresh talents with good chances for a top-3 result. In addition, Seppe Smits is also part of the show. The Belgian, who rounded out the season's first big air podium as third, is ready to build on his performance. Some more cracks to watch out for are Mark McMorris from Canada and last year's Big Air World Cup ranking runner-up Gian-Luca Cavigelli from Switzerland.

Sweden still hopes for a country man's win

For four year's now, the Swedish spectator crowd's hope for a home country triumph at the sole LG Snowboard FIS World Cup competition in the Far North has been deceived. Although Chris Soerman came close in 2008 finishing second, it seems pretty unlikely that the fifth attempt for victory will work out when faced with this strong competition.

Nevertheless, a total of twelve riders led by Soerman and Kevin Backstroem will enter the competition chancing their luck.

The Stockholm results of the last four years


First rank

Second rank

Third rank


Stefan Gimpl (AUT)

Marko Grilc (SLO)

Gjermund Braaten (NOR)


Janne Korpi (FIN)

Chris Soerman (SWE)

Seppe Smits (BEL)


Janne Korpi (FIN)

Risto Mattila (FIN)

Sami Saarenpaa (FIN)


Matevz Petek (SLO)

Peetu Piiroinen (FIN)

Risto Mattila (FIN)

For some ramp information check one of our latest news about the event.