Swedish Ski Cross Team for 2011/2012 announced

06 May 2011 15:11

The Swedish Ski Cross National Team for 2011/2012 season is announced. Four athletes in total, three guys and one girl, will represent Sweden for the coming World Cup events.


"We have chosen those athletes who can compete on the highest level in the World Cup and other Championships" Tommy Eliasson, Chief of Sports said.


Last winter, Anna Holmlund won the overall Ski Cross World Cup and conquered a bronze medal in the FIS Freestyle Skiing Championships in Deer Valley. Lars Lewén has several World Cup stage wins on his achievement list, and will be back competing this coming winter after one year of break due to an injury. In addition to Holmlund and Lewén, Michael Forslund and Viktor Öhling Norgberg completes the World Cup squad.


"Our head coach, John Lindh, has signed a new agreement which allows him to stay with us for the entire year and not only the winter. This is an important step in our work with developing Ski Cross, and especially our project Ski Cross Academy where we focus on youth and kids". 


"To be able to meet the high International level even in the future, we need to make sure we can develop our sport in our own country. Per today we have a great team, but we would like to see even more athletes competing for making it to the World Cup squad. In order to change this, we will work even closer with the various Ski Clubs" Tommy Eliasson explained.


The newly established Ski Cross Academy works with youth born in 93-96 and will be trained through a specific discipline program. Coaches and Leaders from the various Ski Clubs will go through a learning module as well, and our aim is to get the young athletes up and running to the National Team.  "Rookie Team" on the other hand is a group of Junior skiers who will be able to train with the National Team from time to time throughout the season. The group should ideally consist of 10-15 athletes in the future.


The National Ski Cross team consists of the following athletes:

Anna Holmlund, Branäs SkiCross
Lars Lewén, Branäs SkiCross
Michael Forslund, IFK Mora Alpina
Victor Öhling Norberg, Funäsdalens SLK