Thrilling Alpine World Cup season in the books – an overview about the crystal globes

19 March 2014 14:28
Anna Fenninger and Marcel Hirscher celebrate their crystal globes
Anna Fenninger and Marcel Hirscher celebrate their crystal globes -
GEPA Pictures

With the 2013/2014 Audi FIS Ski World Cup season now in the history books, it is time for the athletes and teams to head off for a well-deserved summer break. Below is an overview of the season’s biggest winners, most of whom were decided during the Season Finals in Lenzerheide (SUI) last week.


1. Anna Fenninger (AUT) 1371
2. Maria Hoefl-Riesch (GER) 1180
3. Lara Gut (SUI) 1101

Anna Fenninger’s consistency paid off this season and in Lenzerheide she won her first FIS Ski World Cup Overall title. The 24-year-old competed in 24 races this year, she won four of them and climbed on the podium a total of 11 times. With Maria Hoefl-Riesch pulling out of the last races due to an injury sustained during a fall in the downhill in Lenzerheide, the impressive streak proved good enough to take home two crystal globes (giant slalom and overall).

1. Marcel Hirscher (AUT) 1222
2. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) 1091
3. Alexis Pinturault (FRA) 1028

On the men’s side it was a two-man battle between Marcel Hirscher and Aksel Lund Svindal for most of the season. But it was Hirscher who once again wrapped up his season with the Overall title in his pocket. With five victories and a total of 13 podiums, Hirscher was able to secure his third overall title in a row. Interestingly enough; all three times when he won the Overall, Svindal finished second.


1. Maria Hoefl-Riesch (GER) 504
2. Anna Fenninger (AUT) 464
3. Tina Maze (SLO) 409

Maria Hoefl-Riesch won the downhill crystal globe for the first time in her career. She already had two slalom  and one super-G titles under her belt. Riesch claimed a total of three downhill wins this season, two in Lake Louise and one in Cortina d'Ampezzo, and a third in Altenmarkt-Zauchensee.

1. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) 570
2. Hannes Reichelt (AUT) 360
3. Erik Guay (CAN) 357

Svindal might have ended up missing the Overall title, but he was far from finishing the season empty handed. The Norwegian speed specialist secured his second downhill title in a row during his home races in Kvitfjell. He missed his objective of a podium finish at his home races, but scored enough valuable points and didn’t have to worry about anyone catching up with him in Lenzerheide. It might have been a tighter battle, but Hannes Reichelt was forced to end his season early due to a back injury sustained before the Olympic Winter Games.


1. Lara Gut (SUI) 448
2. Anna Fenninger (AUT) 357
3. Tina Weirather (LIE) 310

Lara Gut took home her first ever crystal globe after clearly dominating the super-G season and winning four out of the six races. She led the discipline standings from the first race on and was rewarded for her consistency.

1. Aksel Lund Svindal (NOR) 346
2. Kjetil Jansrud (NOR) 259
3. Patrick Kueng (SUI) 255

There were no surprises at the top of the men’s super-G standings with Svindal once again showing who is the king of speed. The Norwegian successfully defended his title and took home the crystal globe for a third time in a row. His teammate Kjetil Jansrud wrapped up a fantastic season, during which he won an Olympic gold medal in super_g, claiming second by less than 100 points from Svindal. Patrick Kueng (SUI) in third place, made a name for himself this season by winning in Beaver Creek and finishing second in Kvitfjell.

Giant Slalom

1. Anna Fenninger (AUT) 518
2. Jessica Lindell-Vikarby (SWE) 492
3. Maria Pietilae-Holmner (SWE) 339

Anna Fenninger won the last four World Cup giant races of the season and overtook Jessica Lindell-Vikarby (SWE) in the final race to snatch her first event globe ever and add a bonus achievement to her best season so far.

1. Ted Ligety (USA) 560*
2. Marcel Hirscher (AUT) 560*
3. Alexis Pinturault (FRA) 458

Note: Ligety wins on a tie breaker with more season victories.

The final men’s giant slalom proved to be one of the most thrilling races of the season as the battle for the title came down to the last possible moment. In the last giant slalom of the season Ted Ligety (USA) was able to overcome a 50 point gap between him and Marcel Hirscher to take claim of the title. By winning the race and Hirscher finishing fourth, the pair finished the season with the same number of points, but Ligety earned the title thanks to his five season victories and a little help from his friend Felix Neureuther (GER) who played a key role in the final moments of the race by in second, behind Ligety and ahead of Hirscher.


1. Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) 638
2. Frida Hansdotter (SWE) 488
3. Mariles Schild (AUT) 385

Mikaela Shiffrin won five of the eight slalom races this season to secure the slalom crystal globe for the second consecutive season. She is the youngest lady to win it twice. Frida Hansdotter (SWE) earned her first ever World Cup victory (Kranjska Gora) this season, while Marlies Schild (AUT) became the most successful female slalom skier with a total of 35 career victories. 

1. Marcel Hirscher (AUT) 565
2. Felix Neureuther (GER) 550
3. Henrik Kirstoffersen (NOR) 454

Things were certainly less clear on the men’s side as Neureuther and  Hirscher entered the last slalom of the season with only five points between them. Neureuther was in the lead and had to finish ahead of Hirscher to have a shot at winning his first title. After the first run it was hardly clearer who might be the one to take home the slalom title as only 0.06 seconds separated them, with Hirscher in the lead and the rest of the field far behind. In the end, a small mistake cost Neureuther valuable time and Hirscher won the title. They both better watch out next season, with Henrik Kristoffersen (NOR), only 19 years old who already finished third. Big things are expected from the young Norwegian sensation in the future.

See everyone next year for what is sure to be a thrilling 2014/15 season!