Denifl claims the PCR victory in Chaikovskiy

03 January 2014 10:00
Willi Denifl on top in Chaikovskiy
Willi Denifl on top in Chaikovskiy -
FIS/Silke Tegethof

With a great jump of 101 metres, Austria's veteran Wilhelm Denifl won the PCR in Chaikovskiy today. With a total of 125.8 points, he beat out Russian local hero Evgeniy Klimov who followed on rank two with 98,5 metres and 118.2 points. Switzerland's Tim Hug also had a great jump of 99 metres and took rank three with a total of 117.6 points. The Top Ten were completed by Tobias Simon and Wolfgang Bösl, Russia's Niyaz Nabeev, Miroslav Dvorak, Lukas Klapfer and Karl-August Tiirmaa.

Should the PCR have to be used in case of bad weather on the upcoming days, this result would mean a 30-second headstart for Willi Denifl on Klimov, Tim Hug would follow three seconds after the Russian. Lukas Klapfer as number nine would have one minute of time behind. Strong cross-country skiers Björn Kircheisen and Taylor Fletcher would have to make up time behinds of 1:05 and 2:15 respectively.

The four athletes who did not qualify for the competition were Team USA's Adam Loomis, Nick Hendrickson and Michael Ward. Norway's Ole Martin Storlien was not able to start due to an issue with his binding which could not be repaired. 

 Result List