Finland announces teams for upcoming season

07 May 2013 13:25
Fin Herola Ryynaenen
Fin Herola Ryynaenen -

After a couple of other nations have already announced their national teams and cadre athletes, Finland is the next nation to publish the names of their athletes for the upcoming winter.

As a first big change, the A-Team will now consist of seven athletes.  "We wanted to strengthen head coach Petter Kukkonen's team with the power of youth. In a seven-person team, we will also have a good competition for the start places among the boys which will additionally motivate them", physiotherapist and assistant coach Jari Hiekkavirta says.


Ilkka Herola
Jim Härtull
Mikke Leinonen
Arttu Mäkiaho
Janne Ryynänen
Eetu Vähäsöyrinki
Arttu Ålander

Antti Kuisma will continue his work with the B-Team which will consist of the following athletes:

Ville Heikkinen
Eero Hirvonen
Anselm Ilola
Atte Korhonen
Roope Minkkinen
Leevi Mutru
Marcus Torni

Right now, the athletes have already started training again and will soon meet for the first training camp of the new season in Vuokatti.