Kokslien & Skatvedt Norwegian summer national champions

18 September 2016 20:40
Mikko Kokslien is summer national champion 2016
Mikko Kokslien is summer national champion 2016 -

A busy weekend is past the Norwergian Nordic Combined team including the Supersprint in Lillehammer’s city centre and the summer nationals held at Lysgårdbakken and Birkebeineren ski stadium.

Klemetsen wins Lillehammer Sprint

On Satuday, team veteran Håvard Klemetsen secured the win at the popular Supersprint event that has already been held for the 12th time this year. Klemetsen bested his fellow veteran Magnus Moan in the final heat. Shooting star Jarl Riiber had to stop in the semifinals when he began to have problems with his injured shoulder again. Riiber was taken to the hospital in Lillehammer where his shoulder was treated immediately but had to cancel his participation in the summer nationals on the following day.

Kokslien, Skatvedt and Skoglund win summer nationals

In an action packed event, it was Mikko Kokslien who captured the top spot on the podium in the Norwegian summer nationals this year. After the jumping event in which Jarl Riiber’s brother Harald upheld the family honour and took the pole position for the race with the top jumping score of 147.9 points, Kokslien ranked only tenth, one minute and four seconds behind the leader. But as the race went on, Kokslien worked his way up to the head of the field and going into the last lap, it was fast skiers Jørgen Graabak and Magnus Moan but also Espen Andersen who skied together.

Moan was the first one to have to let go while the other three decided the podium positions in a finish line sprint. Local hero Kokslien finally had the best end for himself, finishing at the same time as Olympic Champion Jørgen Graabak. Espen Andersen had to be content with position three, 2 seconds behind the winner.

In the ladies’ event, Karoline Bjerke Skatvedt dominated the event. She set the top jumping score and had a comfortable time cushion of two minutes and twenty second on closest pursuer Thea Øihaugen. In the end, Øihaugen finished +1:53 after Skatvedt, the third position went to Mille Moen Flatla. In the boys’ junior category, Andreas Skoglund took the victory two minutes and six seconds ahead of Emil Ottesen. Sebastian Østvold completed the podium as third.

Final Results