Magnus Moan’s super-weekend at Lillehammer

16 September 2014 12:09
Supersprint podium 2014
Supersprint podium 2014 -
Nordic Combined Norway

It has been a great weekend at Lillehammer for Norwegian team veteran Magnus Moan who did not only take the win in the annual Lillehammer Supersprint on Saturday but also claimed the title of the Norwegian summer national champion on Sunday. Fellow veteran Haavard Klemetsen claimed two second ranks, showing that in this team, the oldies really are „goldies“ for the time being.

Supersprint Saturday

For the 10th year in a row, the annual Norwegian Nordic Combined Committee camp has been held as a chance for all Nordic Combined athletes of the country to come together. In front of a big crowd of spectators, the first day was dedicated to the Supersprint, a competition form in which the 16 best athletes after a prologue face off in pairs of two until a winner is determined.

„I didn’t expect that! To me, it was quite surprising to win this event. I felt my technique and the starts were going well today and of course it very fun to win“, a happy Magnus Moan stated after he had beaten last year’s winner Haavard Klemetsen in the final. The semifinalists who battled out ranks three and four were youngster Harald Riiber and Estonian Han Hendrik Piho.

Supersprint Result List

The Nordic Combined ladies also took part in the Supersprint with Hanna Midtsundstad taking the win after a fierce fight with runner-up Silje Opseth. Thea Oeihaugen and Karoline Bjerke Skadtvedt took ranks three and four.

Find the ladies result list here.

Nationals Sunday
The jumping competition on Sunday, however, went to the team youngesters. Sixteen-year-old Jarl Riiber took the intermediate lead on Lillehammer’s HS 100 hill with a jump of 96.5 metres, giving him 1421.4 points and 28 seconds headstart on jumping sensation Haavard Klemetsen who landed at 92.5 metres. Jan Schmid set the longest jump of the day with 99 metres but with a total of 132 points, he started 38 seconds behind Riiber.

In the race, the Riiber, Klemetsen and Schmid roller-skied as a leading trio for much of the race until Magnus Moan, who had been ranking 10th after the race had made up his 01:50 of time disadvantage and took over the lead, approximately 2.5 kilometres before the finish line. With another strong cross-country performance, Magnus Krog also worked his way up the ranks from a eighth position after jumping to a final fourth rank behind Moan, Klemetsen and Schmid. Youngster Jarl Riiber held on to a very respectable fourth rank in the end.

In the B category, the win went to Einar Luraas Oftebro ahead of Fedrik Andre Stroem and Lars Ivar Skaarset.   

Find the full result list here.

Ski Jumping Results