Norwegian A-team announced; Kjelbotn retires

25 April 2017 12:48
Team Norway with their Team Event silver at Lahti 2017
Team Norway with their Team Event silver at Lahti 2017 -

Head Coach Kristian Hammer has nominated seven athletes to the Norwegian A-team for the 2017/18 season.

Magnus Moan

Magnus Krog

Jørgen Graabak

Jan Schmid

Mikko Kokslien

Jarl Magnus Riiber

Espen Andersen


Kjelbotn retires

At the same time, longtime B-team member Thomas Kjelbotn has announced his retirement. Kjelbotn follows team veteran Håvard Klemetsen in hanging up his skis.

"I have had many nice years as a Nordic Combined athlete, all the way from my youth until now, in Bardu, Trondheim, Norway and abroad. My environment with my family, the supporters, coaches, my fellow athletes and my close friends have formed me as a person. Looking back, I am very thankful for everything I got to be a part of and I got to experience in my long sports career, with both ups and downs. Something I have to mention is the unwavering support of my parents, girlfriend, family, coaches, teammates, close friends, supporters and my sponsors. I am now looking forward to new challenges", Kjelbotn writes on his facebook page.