The best jumper proves himself: Andersen wins PCR

11 January 2018 13:31
Full focus: Espen Andersen in Lillehammer
Full focus: Espen Andersen in Lillehammer -

Norwegian Espen Andersen currently wears the blue bib of the “Best Jumper” and proved to be worthy of this position today. He won the Provisional Competition Round in Val di Fiemme with a jump of 132 metres and 139.1 points. Should the PCR be used, this means a head start of 8 seconds on second-placed Akito Watabe. The Japanese delivered 130.5 metres (137 p.). 

Mario Seidl had a nerve-wrecking morning when his binding broke shortly before he was going out on the bar for his PCR jump. The Austrian and his team managed to fix the binding in time, so that Seidl finally jumped before yellow-bib bearer Jan Schmid. Seidl kept his cool in the jump and landed at 127.5 metres. 134.7 points meant rank three, two points ahead of Johannes Rydzek (128 m; 134.5 p.).

If the PCR has to be used, it would certainly prove to be an interesting race, as many of the strong skiers also jumped very well. Jørgen Graabak was fifth after a jump of 127 metres and would start 26 seconds behind the leader, Fabian Rießle had the same time disadvantage after jumping 127 metres and a total of 132.5 points. Also in the Top Ten: French World Championship medallist Francois Braud ranked eighth, +0:43 seconds after Andersen.

Austrian World Champion Bernhard Gruber reached the 23rd place at his comeback competition (+1:21), Eric Frenzel did not have the greatest jump with 121 metres and +1:29 to make up.

The conditions in the landing area proved to be difficult for many athletes, especially jumping sensation Jarl Riiber, who touched the snow after a jump of 131 metres and Italian Aaron Kostner, who fell after his jump.

18 athletes did not qualify for tomorrow’s event, among them local hero Alessandro Pittin, much to the dismay of the supporters on location. Missing tomorrow will also be Lukas Runggaldier, Han-Hendrik and Kail Piho, Je-Un Park, Atte Korhonen and Russia’s Viacheslav Barkov and Vitalii Ivanov as well as Ukraine’s Viktor Pasychnik and Dmytro Mazurchuk.

Final Results