Since 1921 the Ski-Club Partenkirchen has been hosting the traditional New Year’s competition. The first Olympiaschanze in Garmisch Partenkirchen was created 1925 at the Kochelberg, although it was not meant to host Olympics at that time.
When the Winter Olympics 1926 were given to Garmisch-Partenkirchen, people began to build the “real” Olympiaschanze at Gudiberg in October 1933. At the first trial competition on February 5th, 1934 the Norwegian Rolf Kaarby jumped 70 metres. About 5,000 spectators watched the “baptism” of the jump. The total spectator record was set up at the “Große Olympiaschanze” during the Olympic Winter Games 1936. 130,000 visitors were witnesses of a unique ski jumping event, which was won by the Norwegian Birger Ruud with jumps on 75 and 74.5 metres.
After that, Garmisch should also host the Olmpics 1940 and the still today existing ski stadium, which is a landmark monument, was constructed. The "Große Olympiaschanze" was adapted several times to changing standards. 1950 the steal inrun tower was built, which was, at that time, unique in architecture and construction. With the enlargement of the inrun and backshifting of the takeoff with the same K-Point, unchanged inrun angle and a conversion of the landing hill the whole jump was enlarged.
With the New Year’s competition on January 1, 1953 the very first “German-Austrian” Ski Jumper’s Tournament started.
In 1978 the jump was converted again and the K-Point enlarged to 107 meters. The last conversion was in 1996, when the profile of the jump was adapted to modern rules and changed into K115. During 2000 a modern lift was added to the skiing stadium and a glass cabine on the inrun tower was built.
The already more than 50 year old ski jumping hill was then blown up on April 14, 2007, since the hill certificate did no longer match the FIS criteria. Under immense pressure of time works started, in order to complete the futuristic 14 m. € K125 ski jump just in time for New Year’s competition 2007.