David Siegel surprises at German ski jumping championships

22 October 2016 17:19
Top 6 of the German nationals in Oberhof
Top 6 of the German nationals in Oberhof -

David Siegel provided a surprise at the German ski jumping championships in Oberhof and secured his first national title.

The 20-year-old reigning Junior World Champion laid the foundation for this big success in the first round with the longest jump of the day on 140 m. In the final he then jumped on 126 m and won with a total of 277.8 points. "This came as a surprise for me. In the training jumps I still had big problems with the timing at the take-off so I'm even happier now that it worked so well in the competition", the newly crowned champion said in a first statement published on the facebook page of the German Ski Association.

The second place went to Andreas Wellinger with jumps of 137.5 m and 127 m and 275.6 points. Richard Freitag came in third with 136 m and 124.5 m and 266.4 points.

Marinus Kraus, Karl Geiger and Stephan Leyhe followed in fourth, fifth and sixth. Markus Eisenbichler lost his chances on a top result when he fell in the first round after a jump on 137.5 m. He finished eighth, close ahead of Andreas Wank.

Severin Freund, who was award with the "Golden Ski" of the German Ski Association earlier this week for his performances in the past winter, did not take part in this competition. "A long and intensive preparation phase is almost over – about a month to go until the World Cup in Kuusamo finally kicks off again. Till then a lot of exciting work on the hill as well as in the gym awaits me. That's why I'll take a break for regeneration this weekend - especially for "older" athletes like me, rest times are a very important issue", he wrote on his facebook page.

The best in the junior's ranking was Felix Hoffmann with 246.6 points (128.5 m and 123.5 m), he came in ahead of Julian Hahn (127.5 m and 117 m; 233.6 points) and Constantin Schmid (128.5 m and 116.5 m; 232.0 points).

The team competition was held already Friday afternoon. With a lead of more than 100 points, the win went to the team of BSV 1 with Karl Geiger, Marinus Kraus, Andreas Wellinger and Markus Eisenbichler (1046.1 points). SVSAC 1 (Julian Hahn, Johannes Schubert, Martin Hamann, Richard Freitag; 938.0 points) and TSV 1 (Sebastian Bradatsch, Justin Lisso, Felix Hoffmann, Tim Heinrich; 931.9 points) came in second and third.

Results Men
Results Juniors
Results Team

Photo: www.facebook.com/SkisprungTV