The FIS Snowboard World Cup

15 October 2013 15:10
World Cup Globe

The FIS Snowboard World Cup is a worldwide contest series which features six different snowboard events:

  • big air

  • halfpipe 

  • slopestyle

  • snowboard cross

  • parallel slalom

  • parallel giant slalom

In each event, the best rider will be crowned at the end of the season winning the small Crystal Globe with all World Cup results of the respective event taken into account. However, there has to be a minimum of three counting competitions to be conducted that an event title and trophy will be awarded.

In addition to the event titles, there is also an Overall World Cup titles for the best rider of the snowboard freestyle World Cup (halfpipe, big air and slopestyle) as well as the best racer of the alpine snowboard World Cup (PGS and PSL).

To find out, who will bring home the big Crystal Globe the system works like this: 

The points from a rider's best freestyle snowboard contests (halfpipe, slopestyle and big air) or parallel races (PGS and PSL) will be added together to determine the overall freestyle snowboard or overall parallel snowboard champion.

However, there is a small difference how to determine the both respective overall World Cup winners. While a maximum of 6 events are taken into consideration
regardless of the event where the results are achieved to calculate the overall snowboard freestyle World Cup winner, all World Cup PSL and PGS results will be added together to determine the overall champion in the alpine snowboard events.

Tie Breaking: The highest total of the best event decides - if still tied, the number of
first rankings, if still tied the number of second rankings, etc. decides.

For further information on the rules click HERE.