High-class slopestyle qualifiers at Stoneham

17 January 2014 21:28
Slopestyle action at Stoneham qualifiers
Slopestyle action at Stoneham qualifiers -
Anthony Desgagnes

With the pressure of the last chance to qualify for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games on rider's shoulders, the last pre-Sochi slopestyle World Cup event presented by S3 staged at the 2014 Snowboard Jamboree presented by Mazda in collaboration with Videotron Mobile made obvious that the riders were ready to fulfil their Olympic dream.

Especially as only two riders of each qualification heat would make it directly to the finals.

On the women's side, Cheryl Maas (NED), Copper Mountain World Cup winner Sarka Pancochova (CZE), Anna Gasser (AUT) and Christy Prior (NZL) earned their spots.

On the men's side, Max Parrot (CAN), former Big Air World Champion Petja Piiroinen (FIN), 2011 Slopestyle World Champion Seppe Smits (BEL), Mans Hedberg (SWE), Seamus O'Conner (IRE), Charles Reid (CAN), Torgeir Bergrem (NOR) and Jamie Nicholls (GBR) were the eight men of four heats to go through.

In addition, six more ladies and twelve more men will get a second chance in the semi finals at Sunday, Jan 19, 11 AM ET (5 PM CET) to claim one of the remaining two (ladies) and four (men) spots for the finals which are scheduled for Sunday, Jan 19, 1 PM ET (7 PM CET).

For further information on today's contests check: