PyeongChang is gearing up for Olympic test event

15 February 2016 12:33
The venue of the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games slopestyle events
The venue of the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games slopestyle events -

Next weekend will mark a special date in the history of the World Cup as it's the first time major snowboard competition will visit the venue of the 2018 PyeongChang Olympic Winter Games with the official slopestyle test event scheduled from February 19th till 21st, 2016. It will also be the first ever slopestyle World Cup in Korea.

Bokwang Phoenix Park is all set to host the penultimate event of the 2015-16 snowboard freestyle World Cup tour on a high-quality course consisting of a three-rail line and a three-kicker line designed by Schneestern of Durach, Germany.

While the riders will get their first glimpse on what to expect at the brand new venue purpose-built for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games they are also entering the final stretch in the race for the Crystal Globe with only two competitions left on the calendar.

At the moment, it's a close title battle between five women with Hailey Langland (USA) leading with 1,100 points ahead of 2014 Olympic champion Jamie Anderson (USA) and Anna Gyarmati (HUN), both sitting on a shared second spot with 1,000 points.

Laurie Blouin (CAN) and Jessika Jenson (USA) are also close behind with 800 points each.

In the men's event, it's Chris Corning (USA) being in front with 1,320 points with his teammate Brandon Davis (USA, 1,000) and Max Eberhardt (CAN, 950) following in a respective second and third position.

Time schedule

Qualifiers will kick off on Friday, February 19th, 2016, at 8:45 AM local time (12:45 AM CET) with heat1 men, followed by the second heat men at 11:10 AM local time (3:10 AM CET). Women are supposed to start at 1:30 PM local time (5:30 AM CET).

The finals of the best six women and top ten men are scheduled for 1 PM local time (5 AM CET) on Sunday, February 21st, 2016. The full schedule can be viewed online.

The finals will feature three runs with the best score of each rider counting.

Click here for a venue overview.