Warm weather delays qualifiers and shortens course

05 March 2014 16:23
Sarka Pancochova (CZE) stomped her run and now aims for the Crystal Globe
Sarka Pancochova (CZE) stomped her run and now aims for the Crystal Globe -
Miha Matavz

However, Officials took advantage of the postponement to prepare the course for the field of 21 ladies and 42 men who were keen to give it a shot on the technical course built by Alli Zehetner (AUT).

When it was time to throw down, the riders were able to tackle almost the whole course except of the last kicker which had to be left out due to the warm conditions.

In the end, competitors were judged by overall impressions for their technical tricks, style and flow on two rails at the top of the course, a two-kicker jump line and a final jib section.

And as expected, the top names nailed some impressive runs.

While odds-on favourite and main aspirant for this season's Slopestyle World Cup title Sarka Pancochova (CZE, 93.50) earned the highest score on the women's side of things with 2011 Junior World Champion Anna Gyarmati (HUN, 92.25) sitting in second, local hero Clemens Schattschneider (AUT, 94.66) and Swedish talent Mans Hedberg (81.33) dominated heat 1 & 2 on the men's side.

Other riders who qualified directly for the women's final of six were Lucile Lefevre (FRA) and Henna Ikola (FIN).

On the men's side, Ville Paumola (FIN), Joris Ouwerkerk (NED) and Nicola Dioli (ITA) earned their spots from heat 1 while Petja Piiroinen (FIN), Aleksi Partanen (FIN) and Lucas Baume (SUI) directly qualified from heat 2.

The last final spots will be awarded in tomorrow's semi finals where six ladies and twelve men will battle for the last two (ladies) and four (men) remaining spots respectively.

Semi finals will start at 11 AM (CET) with the finals of the top 6 ladies and twelve men scheduled at 2 PM (CET).

ORFeins will broadcast the finals live from 2:45 PM (CET) on, Eurosport 2 start its broadcasting at 2:30 PM (CET).

Here are the results for

And here are the start list for the