42 ladies and 65 men to drop in at Copper Mountain halfpipe World Cup event

18 December 2013 11:39
The Copper Mountain halfpipe
The Copper Mountain halfpipe -
FIS/Buchholz

Strong and deep field to kick off things at huge freestyle snowboarding week in Colorado in today's halfpipe qualification

The FIS Snowboard Freestyle tour gets underway with this season's third halfpipe World Cup competition staged at the 14th Sprint US Grand Prix in an impressive 22-foot superpipe at Copper Mountain, CO.

With only one month and two halfpipe comps left in the Olympic qualifying period a big field chances its luck to earn critical qualifying points and thus a national spot for the 2014 Sochi Olympic Winter Games while also aiming to get some precious points in the race for the Crystal Globes.

The line-up consists of a total of 65 men and 45 ladies who are keen to drop in.

While superstar Shaun White (USA) will sit out the event due to a re-injured ankle (he is most likely to be back on track for the slopestyle event), almost every on else of snowboard distinction is at site ready to showcase his or hers tricks in style in today's qualifiers.

The men will go first in three separated heats with the first one to start at 9:30 AM MST (5:30 PM CET) with the ladies to follow at night under flood lights at 6:40 PM MST (2:40 AM CET on Dec 19).

Top four men of each heat will go to finals plus the next four best results over all three heats summing up in a final of 16.

On the women's side, top three ladies of each heat will make it plus next best two over both heats summing up in a final of 8.

START LISTS

LIVE SCORING available

Follow the men's qualifiers here while this link will lead you to the ladies' qualifier live scoring.